RSS

Cool Lemon Sponge Cake

12 Oct

Hello Everyone,

Here is another recipe from the Winning State Fair cakes book. I made this one awhile back and sadly no I don’t have a picture of it! 😦  It’s from Amy Myler from Blackfoot, Idaho.

For Cake:

1-1/2 cups egg whites (about 10 egg whites)

2-1/2 tsp. cream of tartar

1/2 tsp. salt

2 cups granulated sugar

2 cups Softasilk cake flour

1 tbsp. lemon zest

3/4 cup egg yolks (about 10)

1/3 cup water

3 tbsp. lemon juice

Lemon Topping:

1 package (4oz. size) lemon instant pudding and pie filling mix

1 container (12oz.) frozen whipped topping, thawed

Heat oven to 325 degrees, place oven rack to lowest setting. Beat egg whites, cream of tartar and salt in a large mixing bowl on high-speed until foamy. Gradually beat in 1 cup of the sugar, 2 tbsp at a time, until stiff peaks form; set aside. Mix remaining 1 cup sugar, the flour and lemon zest in a large bowl; set aside. Beat egg yolks in a medium bowl on medium speed about 2 minutes. Beat in water and lemon juice. Beat egg yolk mixture into flour mixture. Gradually fold in egg white mixture, using a rubber spatula. Pour into ungreased angel food cake pan (tube pan), 10×4-inches. Cut gently through batter with a metal spatula or knife to break any air pockets. Bake for 1 hour or until cracks feel dry and top springs back when touched lightly. Immediately turn upside down into a heat-proof funnel or bottle. Let hang about 2 hours or until cake is completely cool. Loosen side of cake with knife or long metal spatula. For frosting, gradually stir pudding mix (dry) into whipped topping until blended. 1 cup heavy cream can be substituted for the whipped topping. Beat whipping cream and pudding mix (dry) in a medium bowl on medium speed until stiff. Frost top and sides of cake with topping. When I made this I left of the whipped topping the cake tasted really good without it. Plus I am not a cool whip fan at all, nasty stuff. If you would like to use it then go for it, or use the whipping cream one instead..

I heard from the lung Dr today and she said my lung CT looks better than the last one, I don’t  have as much haziness in my lungs. Now I am just waiting for the women’s Dr to call me about the cancer test! I did call them and leave a message, saying PLEASE CALL ME I AM GOING STIR CRAZY!!! I want to know what is going on!!! I hope they call me back tomorrow!

This week at Rays office is they are having the Chili/ Dessert contest. I am making a Chicken Fajita Chili from my cooking club of America magazine from last year. I decided to make a Chocolate Malt cake that I saw in a recent issue of Bonappetit magazine. I have won this award for the last 3 years in a row, I hope I can win it back!! I’ll post the recipes later this weekend, I have to tweak the chili recipe a bit, I just hope and pray the cake turn out like the pictures. They have very detailed instructions that came with the recipe. Ray and I went shopping tonight for some case lot foods at Paul’s Market, I really like the Western Family brand of veggies, tuna, and tomatoes they have. Then we ate at Sharis restaurant which is pretty good most of the time. They are lot cleaner than that place we went to Saturday! Then we went to Winco to get the rest of my supplies for the cake. Winco has been under construction these past few months. They are expanding the building and they have made the aisle’s a lot wider and they are getting a lot more different foods in there. We asked the cashier when they thought they would be finished and she said about a week before Thanksgiving. I hope so that place will be a mad house that week!! It’s better to shop there really late at night like we did tonight or early in the morning. You can avoid a lot of people that way..

Well that’s all I have for tonight, I am really tired… I did a lot of much-needed cleaning around my house today. It looks and smells better.   🙂

Goodnight all my cyber friends… 

Amanda 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 12, 2010 in Cakes

 

Leave a Reply

 
