RSS

Chocolate Banana Peanut Butter Delight Cake

13 Oct

Hello Everyone,

Here is another recipe from the State Fair Winning cake book. It’s by Lucile Lenz, Lincoln, NE. This is the first cake I made from this book when I bought it.

Chocolate Cake Layers:

1/2 cup unsalted butter, (1 stick) 4oz. softened

1-1/4 cups granulated sugar

2 large eggs

3 oz. unsweetened baking chocolate, melted

3/4 cup whole milk

1 tsp. vanilla

2-1/4 cups Softasilk cake flour

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 cup sour cream

Banana Layer:

1/2 cup unsalted butter (1 stick) 4oz. softened

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1 large egg

3/4 cup mashed ripe bananas (1 -1/2 medium)

1/4 cup sour cream

1/4 tsp. vanilla

1/2 tsp. banana extract

1 cup plus 2 tbsp. Softasilk cake flour

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

Peanut Butter Frosting:

1 cup unsalted butter, (2 sticks) 8oz. softened

1 cup creamy peanut butter

4 cups powdered sugar

1/4 cup whole milk

1/2 tsp. vanilla

1/8 tsp. popcorn salt

chopped chocolate covered peanuts, for garnish

mini chocolate chips, for garnish

maraschino cherries, for garnish

Heat oven to 350 degrees, grease and flour 3, 9-inch round cake pans.

To bake chocolate layers: Beat the butter and sugar in a medium bowl until blended, scraping down bowl as needed. Beat in eggs, one at a time. Beat in chocolate, milk, and vanilla. Beat in remaining ingredient’s on low-speed, scraping down bowl as needed. Divide cake batter into 2 of the prepared cake pans, and bake for 25-30 minutes, or until cake tester comes out clean.

To bake banana layer: Beat butter and sugar together in a medium bowl together until blended scraping down bowl as needed. Beat in egg, then banana’s, sour cream, vanilla, and banana extract. Beat in remaining ingredients on low-speed, scraping down bowl as needed. Pour into last prepared baking pan and bake for 25-30 minutes, or until cake tester comes out clean.

For frosting: Beat all ingredients together until smooth and creamy.

To assemble the cake: Place one chocolate layer on cake plate and spread 1/3 cup frosting, place banana layer on and spread another 1/3 cup frosting. Place remaining chocolate cake layer on top, frost top and sides with the rest of the chocolate frosting. Garish the top with chopped chocolate covered peanuts, mini chocolate chips, and maraschino cherries . Store cake in the refrigerator.

I am just working on the cake and the chili tomorrow for the contest at Ray office, so far things are turning out ok. The cake I made today has a brownie like texture to it. Tomorrow I will need to make a couple more things for it, so I can assemble the cake. It has to sit overnight in the refrigerator. I’ll have to get up really early Thursday morning before Rays goes to work to finish the cake! Please pray I can get it done right!!! Also tomorrow I am making the chicken chili. I have had 2 whole chickens thawing in the refrigerator since Sunday, so they will be easy to cut up and cook. I do have one Angel cake I’ll either bake tomorrow or Thursday, to deliver on Friday. It’s just a small 6-inch cake, and I can make whatever cake I want to. It’s for an elderly person in a nursing.

I called the nurse again today about the cancer test, and had to leave another message. About half an hour after I left the message she called me back, saying she was sorry the Dr. hadn’t called me. She said that she had put the message on her desk yesterday and then the Dr. got called out for a baby delivery. The Dr. wasn’t in today, so I’ll need to be up early in the morning to wait for her phone call. The nurse said she couldn’t tell me over the phone because the Dr. hadn’t signed off on the report yet, and the nurse said not to worry. Not To Worry??? What the hell??? If you were waiting like this wouldn’t you worry about it, I was thinking this to myself? 

Well I better go for now, I need to up early and wait yet again for a phone call. Waiting like this really sucks!!!

Until next time…

Amanda..

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 13, 2010 in Cakes

 

Leave a Reply

 
