RSS

Bird Rolls

15 Oct

Hello Everyone,

Here is a recipe I made for the fair several years ago, I won 1st place for them too!! It’s from Margaret Fowler, Plainfield, Indiana. It’s in a Taste Of Home  baking publication that I have had for maybe 8 years I think? I love the recipes in this magazine, I have made several of them, mostly for the fair!!

Bird Rolls:

1 package (1/4oz.) active dry yeast

1 cup warm milk (110-115 degrees)

1/4 cup unsalted butter, melted

1/4 cup packed light brown sugar

3 large eggs

1 tsp. salt

3-1/2 to 4 cups all-purpose flour

1 tbsp. water

16 unblanched whole almonds

In a mixing bowl, dissolve yeast in warm milk. Add the butter, brown sugar, 2 eggs, salt and 2 cups flour. Beat until smooth. Stir in enough remaining flour to form a soft dough. Turn onto a floured surface; knead until smooth and elastic, about 6-8 minutes. Place in a greased bowl, turning once to grease the top. Cover and let rise in a warm place until doubled, about 1 hour. Punch down dough. Turn onto a lightly floured surface; divide into 16 pieces. Roll each into a 12-inch rope; tie into a knot. To form birds head, tuck one end back into knot. With a sharp knife or scissors, cut two slits on opposite end to form tail feathers. Place 2-inched apart on greased baking sheets. Cover and let rise until doubled, about 30 minutes. Beat remaining egg with water; brush over dough. Bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes or until golden brown. Insert an almond into each for beak. Remove from pans to wire rack to cool. Yeild 16 rolls.

I delivered my Angel cake today with no problems. I just made a simple 6-inch cake, iced it white and sprinkled pink sugar crystals on top. I bought a Happy Birthday candles set at Wal-Mart the other day. It’s really cute the letters are in different colors and it even had the exclamation for the end of Happy Birthday! I wrapped it with a pretty pink silk ribbon and put 3 pink tulips that I had, in the top of the ribbon. I even baked for Ronald McDonald house today, I made them lemon raspberry and orange poppy-seed muffins. I got a little distracted there today. The first batch of muffins turned out ok, they stuck to the pan a bit. Then the second well lets just say I hope they liked them. First of all I forgot to beat in the softened butter with the batter. I just put them in the oven and saw the butter on the counter! Yikes! So I pulled them out and put the batter back into the mixing bowl. I folded in the softened butter and starting filling the muffins cup when oh crap I didn’t grease the muffin cups!! Well I had only filled 6 cups so far, so I greased all the others and put the dough in them and scooped out the batter from the cups that were not greased into other greased cups. Threw the pans back into the oven and of course the batter that was left in the ungreased muffin cups starting burning and smoking up the oven! All I can say is that it’s a good thing the oven vent worked great, otherwise I would have set off the fire alarms!! The muffins turned out pretty good despite all the trouble. I had to really scrape and clean their muffin pans before I left. I hope I don’t have anything like this happen again. I was feeling a bit stressed and was distracted about something today…   

I finally heard from my Dr. about the cancer test.. Well it’s like this, I have a cyst on one of my ovaries that is 38cm. The Dr. said the normal is around 35cm, I may have the cm part wrong, anyways… I must have another ultrasound on November 3rd, if it hasn’t changed or has grown I will have to have surgery to have it removed. So I have to wait, yet again.. So many other things om my mind today, but I don’t want to talk about it here… Not today anyways…

Until next time..

Amanda…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 15, 2010 in Breads

 

Leave a Reply

 
