RSS

Stuffed French Loaf

18 Oct

Hello Everyone,

Here is another tasty recipe from the Christmas cookbook I wrote about in a posting awhile ago..

Stuffed French Loaf

1 loaf (16oz.), French bread

8oz. spicy bulk turkey sausage

1 small onion, chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 large egg

2 tbsp. fresh chopped parsley

1 tbsp. Dijon mustard, divided

1 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese

1/2 cup grated parmesan cheese

1/4 cup olive oil

1 tsp. ground black pepper

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Slice bread in half lengthwise and slightly hollow out each half, leaving a 1/2-inch thick layer of bread. Place bread crumbs in a food processor and pulse until finely chopped. Cook sausage, onion, and garlic in a heavy skillet over medium heat until meat is brown; drain off any fat. In a large bowl, combine bread crumbs, meat mixture, egg, parsley, and 1 tsp. mustard; set aside. Using a food processor, process cheese, olive oil, remaining 2 tsp. mustard, and pepper until mixture forms a paste, about 1 minute. Spread cheese mixture evenly over inside of each bread half.  Spoon mixture into cavity of each bread half. Place bread halves together. Wrap loaf in foil. Bake 30-35 minutes or until heated through. Cut into 1-inch-thick slices. Yield about 16 servings. This would be great for any buffet lunch/dinner or any holiday gathering!

I do have 1 Angel cake this week for a mentally challenged adult. I meant to call them on Friday to see what the Birthday person would like, but I forgot. I haven’t felt good all weekend and that was my crazy baking day at Ronald McDonald house! I told my husband about it and he just laughed! It was pretty funny now that I think about it. It was like I was an I Love Lucy episode!! I did get an email Saturday from the director of the house and she said the muffins were great! She said that she had 2 of them and they were almost gone! I made about 40 muffins total, between the 2 different kinds I made. They did have a full house this week. I don’t know when I’ll go back yet. I think I’ll make 3 batches of muffins and bring a couple of my own baking pans, plus a can of cooking spray. They ran out when I was there and I almost couldn’t get the muffins out of the pans. I had to carefully get them out with a butter knife. I don’t have to bake the mission cake this week, one other baker said she would bake it. I emailed the lady that updates Angel cakes website and said if no one took it by Tuesday I would get it done. It’s not that I didn’t want to bake it, I just felt I needed a break was all. I did bake for them last month. It’s a big cake, a 11×18 sheet cake plus I make 24 cupcakes to go with it.

Please pray for my health! I have a bad feeling that I am getting or have another blood clot in my right leg. I am having the same symptoms I had last time. I am going to call the Dr tomorrow and see what they want to do about it.. I’m afraid it means I’ll have to go back on blood thinners for the rest of my life..  Not fun.. 😦

Tomorrow Ray gets home sometime in the early afternoon, he’s been in Twin Falls all weekend. His brother came down from Seattle and they were going through more of their dad’s stuff. I don’t know what Ray will bring home this time, he mentioned some towels, cookbooks, kitchen stuff ect.. We are going to, or I hope to still pick up our niece Abby to take her out for her Birthday tomorrow night. Her actual birthday isn’t until the 1st of November, but Ray and I just wanted to do something with just her. With her parent’s divorced and I am not speaking to my brother, I really don’t want to attend any big family Birthday party, I’m just not up for it. Besides we haven’t ever done anything with just her, so I am hoping it all turns out ok.. I also had lunch with my mom Friday, it’s the first time we have seen each other since all the family fight we had a couple of weeks ago, and it was ok. When she started talking about the Birthday party she had for my brother, I really didn’t want to hear about it. I was a little hurt about this, I know I’m not speaking to him, so what they do with him shouldn’t matter to me. It’s just most of my family here forgot my Birthday this year. My grandparents forgot with all the stuff going on with my aunt’s. My mom did bring me a present when I was working at the fair, they were in AR for my step-dad’s brother’s funeral on my Birthday. I guess I shouldn’t let it bother me, but it would have been nice if they could have done something. I turned 35 this year, it was a milestone for me. I never thought I would live this long. If it wasn’t for my husband it would have just passed like any other day.. My dad just calls me I never get a card or anything from him, I have come to expect that from him. He works a lot and is too wrapped up with my stepmother’s family. I’m sorry that I sound depressed, I am a little. We wanted to bring our dog Casper to our church’s Harvest Party they are having on the 31st. It’s always a huge event with lots of food, games, ect.. They have a petting zoo and we know Casper would love the attention! He loves kids and is so gentle and loving. We told the people one of us would stay with him all the time and have him on his leash, but they said no. The people who run the petting zoo said they prefer to use their own animals, I can understand this to a point. It’s just that we have been going to this church for almost 3 years now, and I still feel like we can’t fit in anywhere.. If  it wasn’t for the wonderful Life Group we go to, we would go somewhere else. Ray said not to worry about it, and I know he’s right… We do need to go more often and at least try to attend more events, maybe that would help. It’s just that I have been so sick these past 2 years that it’s hard to get anywhere when I feel like crap… I know I do a lot of things for Angel cakes, but that’s different I can bake at home and take my time. I don’t have to get dressed up and all… In this church, I feel like Jo in the movie Little Women (one of my favorite books and movie) when she was crying to her mother about not being able to fit in anywhere, she wasn’t pretty like her little sister Amy, she wasn’t married and a homemaker like her big sister Meg, and she wasn’t content like  Beth was.

Well enough for me for now…

Until next time.

Amanda 🙂

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 18, 2010 in Sandwiches

 

One response to “Stuffed French Loaf

  1. webdesin

    November 1, 2010 at 7:02 am

    There is obviously a lot to know about this. I think you made some good points in Features also.
    Keep working ,great job!

     

Leave a Reply

 
