RSS

Mee-Mee’s Famous Coconut Pineapple Cake

21 Oct

Hello all,

Here is another recipe from my winning state fair cake book.  It’s from Sheila Junell, Amarillo, TX. I made this cake a couple of years ago for Angel Cakes foster care picnic.

For the cake:

2 cans (8 oz. each) crushed pineapple in juice, drained and reserve juice for cake, filling and frosting

1-1/2 cups unsalted butter, softened

3 cups granulated sugar

5 large eggs

2/3 cup lemon-lime soda pop

1 tsp. lemon extract

1 tsp. vanilla extract

3 cups sofasilk cake flour

Pineapple filling:

2 cups powdered sugar

1/4 cup cornstarch

reserved juice 

1 cup water

Cream cheese frosting:

1 (8 oz.) package cream cheese softened, this is my addition to the cake, I thought the smaller amount of cream cheese wasn’t enough.

1/2 unsalted butter, softened

3-4 tbsp. pineapple juice

4 cups powdered sugar

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour 4 round 9×1-1/2-inch cake pans. Line with parchment paper and grease and flour paper; set aside. If you only have room in your oven for 2 cake pans you can refrigerate the other 2 and bake after. They will need a few extra minutes, just test them. Beat butter and sugar together in a large mixing bowl until creamy. Beat in eggs, one at a time beating well after each addition.  Mix soda pop, 1/3 cup of the reserved pineapple juice, the lemon extract and vanilla. Beat flour alternately with soda pop mixture into sugar mixture, beating after each addition until smooth. Pour into pans. Bake 25-30 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center come out clean. Cool in pans for 10 minutes; remove from pans to wire rack. Cool completely.

To make filling: Mix sugar and cornstarch in a 2-quart saucepan. Stir in reserve pineapple juice, leaving 3-4 tbsp. for frosting. Cook over medium heat about 7 minutes, stirring constantly, until mixture boil and thickens; cool.

To make frosting: Beat all ingredients together until smooth.

To assemble the cake, place one cake layer on cake plate and spread with 1/2 cup pineapple filling repeat with the rest of cake layers. Frost the top and sides with frosting, spread the rest of pineapple filling on top of frosting. I think if I remember right, that’s what I did. You can see a picture of it here..

http://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=1156766129162&set=a.1156764489121.2021826.1528013904&ref=fbx_album

I delivered the cake to the mentally challenged adult place yesterday and didn’t get to meet the Birthday person. I don’t always get to see who we give cakes to there.  I have a cake for a vet coming up on Tuesday and he’s a BSU fan. I am thinking about making another jersey cake. It’s been awhile since I made one of those cakes.

We had so much fun with my niece Abby the other day. First we went to Red Robin and she knew right away what she wanted to eat mac and cheese she said! LOL!! Our server said boy she’s gonna keep me on my toes! Abby kept telling everyone we were here for her Birthday she was so excited! She didn’t want the staff to sing her Happy Birthday through, I asked her why and she said just because, she will be 4 in a couple of weeks. She sure has grown since we saw her last, and is talking better, I still didn’t understand half of what she was saying! She didn’t like the movie to well, I think she’s still you young for that. It was in 3-D and she didn’t like the images coming at her, she kept taking off the glasses. I think I only watched half of the movie between taking her to the bathroom 2 times and her talking to me! lol!! I’ll have to rent it later just to see it! Well we had a fun time with her anyway, it’s the first time we had a chance to do something with just her. With my illness I can only handle one of the kids at a time right now… 

Ok people I have disabled my voting button, the same person keeps coming on here and giving me a poor rating. As I stated before in my last posting your one of the 4 following people. So I don’t know who it is, but I can tell it’s someone coming from a FB launch site. This is sad, to whoever you are, you are being very petty and low. This is my blog, and while everyone has a right to an opinion your being downright rude. Like I said before I do not get paid doing this!!! This is something for me to do while I try to get better.. This is the last time you’ll hear about this from me here.

Well I hope everyone is having a a good day…

Until next time…

Amanda..

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 21, 2010 in Cakes

 

Leave a Reply

 
