RSS

Pumpkin Cranberry Cake

02 Nov

Hello Everyone,

Here’s a cake I made the other day for my husband’s office for Halloween last week. I made it into the shape of a pumpkin and iced it with cream cheese frosting. It was yummy!!!

Pumpkin Cranberry Cake:

2-1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1-1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. baking powder

3/4 tsp.  ground cinnamon

3/4 tsp. ground cloves

1/2 tsp. ground ginger

1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg

3/4 tsp. salt

1-1/4 cups (2-1/2 sticks) 10 oz. unsalted butter, softened

1 cup packed light brown sugar

1 cup granulated sugar

3 large eggs

1 can (15 oz.) pure pumpkin (not pumpkin pie mix)

1 cup sweetened dried cranberries

1 cup chopped toasted nuts, optional

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour 1, 9×13 or 2, 9-inch round cake pans.  In a microwave safe bowl cover cranberries with water and cook for 5 minutes; drain and set aside to cool. In a large mixing bowl cream the butter and the sugars together until fluffy. Add eggs one at time and mix in until just blended in. Add the pumpkin, and don’t worry if the mixture appears curdled, it will come together after you add the flour. Add the remaining ingredient’s in together just until mixed in. Fold in the drained cranberries and the nuts. Pour batter into prepared cake pans. Bake square for 30-35  minutes and the 9-inch rounds for 25-30 minutes, or until a cake tester comes out clean. Let cool and frost with cream cheese icing…

I am still working on the other post about what you need to ask people at the Christmas bazaars. I hopefully will get it posted in the next couple of days. When I had the canning classes it’s what I did my class presentation on.. So, I just need to dig up all the information from my computer and the paperwork I have. Sorry about that, this past weekend was a busy one for us. We didn’t go to any Halloween parties or anything. We just had a lot of cleaning to get done around the house, plus I had to get the cakes done.. We gave Casper his last cold outside water bath, I know it’s mean but he was getting stinky and I can’t stand it when he stinks!!! Now he smells like lavender!! HA!! He hates it but, that’s the only way I can stand having him in the house!!

The cake delivery went very well today. I made an 11×18 sheet cake and 50 cupcakes for the National Adoption Day. I molded over 60 white chocolate stars and iced the sheet cake with a marbled dark pink and blue colors, and wrote on it ” Every Child Is a Star” and National Adoption Day 2010. I was going to marblize the cupcakes that way too, but I ran out of energy. I just iced 25 pink and 25 blue and put a star on each one. We didn’t end up staying like I thought we would need to.  One lady didn’t want to cut the cake, she said it’s to pretty to cut! I said go ahead and cut it, that’s why it’s here!! LOL, that always makes me laugh when people say that!! I do have 2 more cakes this week. One for a veteran, he likes the Minnesota Vikings so that one will be fun! The other is for a mentally challenged young women, and she likes cats. Both cakes will be fun to make. I don’t have any others the rest of this month yet.

 I have a Dr. app tomorrow and the ultrasound on Wednesday, and I hope I get some good news this week. If the cyst is just a cyst then, they can drain it, if it’s a mass then I don’t know what will happen. I have been doing some reading up on ovarian cancer on the net. There is so much information out there that it get’s so confusing??!!  My husband keeps saying to not worry about it, but it’s hard not to.. I can’t plan anything! I haven’t been able to take any cakes past this week because of all this. I am hoping to make some sheet cakes for the Lighthouse Rescue Mission Thanksgiving dinner that’s the day before Thanksgiving, but right now I can’t commit to anything. It’s very frustrating for me!!! I am a planner and like to plan thing’s out way ahead of time. My sister wants to come and visit during Thanksgiving too and I can’t commit to anything with her yet either..  This is just the wrong time of year for all this, I hate it!!

Well I better go for now… I am very tired.. Good night all..

Until next time…

Amanda…

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 2, 2010 in Cakes

 

2 responses to “Pumpkin Cranberry Cake

  1. Penny

    November 7, 2010 at 12:56 pm

    Thanks for helping celebrate National Adoption Month! I am adopting my children through foster care.

     

Leave a Reply

 
