RSS

October Food Network Magazine Recipe Reviews

05 Nov

Hello Everyone,

We tried several of the recipes in the October issue. Some I wanted to try, but just didn’t feel like cooking too much this month.. So here goes.. First one was Aarti’s Bombay Sloppy Joes on page 68. This is a really good recipe, different but good. I have never added nuts and raisins in sloppy joes before. My husband really liked this one. I didn’t add the honey, the raisins made it taste sweet enough for us. The next recipe is on page 102 the Sausage-Califlower Spaghetti. I wasn’t to sure about this one at first. I don’t like cauliflower too much. I don’t know, why it’s just a taste and texture thing I guess. With the way the recipe is made I really liked the cauliflower made this way! My husband even said honey this is really good! Normally I’m always asking before he even gets 2 bites of anything to see if he likes something or not. I didn’t even have to ask this time!! LOL!! The next recipe is on page 121, the Grilled Korean-Style Skirt Steak. Loved this recipe as well! I didn’t make the Kimchi Fried Rice, just made some Kimchi and regular fried rice. I ate the kimchi and Ray ate the fried rice. It’s the first time I have ever made kimchi and OH MY WORD is it ever HOT! I had to mix mine with some cooked brown rice to tame down the heat. I had a friend on FB say that’s not the traditional way to make kimchi, FN added some seaweed to the fried rice version. I know Ray wouldn’t eat it if I made it that way. He took one bite of the kimchi and handed it back to me and said you can eat, to hot for me!! I need to find a kimchi recipe and see how it’s made to compare with this one.  The last recipe I made is on page 142 the Caramel Apple Cake. I read a thread that some people of FN FB site had some trouble with the sauce, but it came out great for me. I even didn’t have the heavy cream it called for, I ended up adding 3/4 cup of half-and-half. Next time I make this one I will peel and slice the apples smaller and add more cinnamon, I think it would look better and taste better that way. I did have to buy the pan to make it. I didn’t have a 9×3-inch cake pan. You would think with all the cake pans I have that I would have one! Well that’s all the recipes I tried from this months magazine. I was going to try the He made She made contest, it was nachos, but didn’t have the energy to try anymore this month. I have had to many other thing’s on mind I guess..

I have been sick the past 2 days, I have the flu.. I didn’t make the cakes I didn’t want to pass on what I have to someone else. I was going to bake for Ronald McDonald House tomorrow, but I had to tell them I couldn’t make it. They have so many people there with sick kids that I didn’t want to pass on whatever I had to them, that wouldn’t be good at all.. I did have the ultrasound yesterday and I still have the cyst on my ovary. I don’t know yet if I will need surgery, I hope the  Dr. calls me tomorrow. If she doesn’t by 1pm I am going to be calling. I really don’t want to wait all weekend. I have been really stressed out about this.. My husband and I had a fight over some of this tonight and all I will say is that the fight didn’t help… Not sure if we really resolved anything about it. It wasn’t too much about the test as about other thing’s going on…

Well enough for now…

Amanda

 

Leave a Reply

 
