RSS

Christmas Bazaar’s

07 Nov

Hello Everyone,

I’m sorry for taking so long with this. I have had the flu this week, plus waiting to hear from the Dr. about my tests. I am happy to report that I do not have ovarian cancer!! The Dr. called me about 6pm Friday night, and said the cysts have shrunk! I didn’t realize I had 2 of them either, she said cancer doesn’t shrink like this. I will need to have a follow-up in 6 weeks to make sure they have gone away. I can’t tell you how happy I have been, it’ like a huge weight has been taken of my shoulders!

We haven’t been to any craft bazaar’s this weekend, since I had the flu I didn’t think it would be good to go out. I am missing some good ones this weekend! There is a one called The Chocolate Affair and they raise money to help kids. We only go to this one to buy chocolate!! Hehe.. Love chocolate!! Oh well we’ll just have to try for next year. There are still a lot of Christmas bazaars coming up this year. The one I don’t want to miss is in a few weeks. I know a lady that makes Spud Fudge, it’s fantastic!! We always buy some from her there..

Here are a few questions to ask people about their canned jellies, jams, ect..

1. Where do they buy their fruit veggies from? I think it’s important to support your local farmers ect..

2. What are there processing methods, like do they process at home or in a licence kitchen? This one is very important, you don’t want to buy something from someone, if you for instance have an allergy. Like to animals, dander from animals floats in the air and can get into the jams, jellies, ect.. So if you have any sort of allergy do not buy from someone who does home processing. It’s better to be safe than sorry…

3. If the label doesn’t say how long they processed, time and at what elevation. Ask them about this also, this is very important!!!

4. Did they use boiling water canner or pressure canning methods recommend by Ball or the USDA guidelines. Open kettle canning is not an acceptable method anymore. Neither is turning the jar upside down to seel the jar. That’s where people just put there jams or jellies in the jar and turn the jar upside down on a towel on the counter. This is not an acceptable method of canning either. Jam or jellies can get into the top lid and prevent the jar from sealing. It better to use a boiling water canner or your pressure canner for all your canning!!!

If you have any other questions about this please let me know! 🙂

I didn’t make any cakes this weekend that I was going to make, I ended up having them find someone else to make them. I was going to bake for Ronald McDonald house Friday also, but ended up not being able to go. I didn’t want anyone else to get this crud I have..

I promise I am working on my Thanksgiving menu! I am making a few thing’s today and will be making some throughout the week. Hopefully I’ll have it all posted by Sunday night! Later next week I’ll post some recipes of thing’s you can put in jars as Christmas gifts, I am gathering recipes up to post!!!

Until next time!

Amanda 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 7, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Christmas Bazaar’s

  1. Lynn

    November 7, 2010 at 11:07 pm

    Hi Amanda, I am stoked that you are feeling better and got a good report from your doctor!!! :>)

    Also, your post about jams, jellies, canning, etc. is really timely. I went to a farmer’s market yesterday and bought two jars of jam/spread. I don’t know a lot about canning so I didn’t ask any questions. Oh well, now I know. Thanks for the info!

     
    • cakebaker35

      November 7, 2010 at 11:32 pm

      Thank you Lynn!! I am to!! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
