RSS

Bacon Blueberry Scones

12 Nov

Hello Everyone,

Here’s one of Ray’s favorite’s he loves bacon and blueberries!!

Bacon Blueberry Scones:

2 cups all-purpose flour

2 tbsp. light brown sugar

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1/4 tsp. nutmeg

1/3 cup cold unsalted butter, cubed

3/4 cup cold buttermilk

1 tbsp. vegetable oil

1 cup fresh or frozen blueberries *

6 strips bacon, cooked and crumbled

1 large egg

1 tbsp. buttermilk

Course sugar for sprinkling the tops

In a large bowl, combine the first seven ingredient’s. Cut in butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. In a small bowl, whisk buttermilk and oil; add to crumb mixture just until moistened. Stir in blueberries and bacon. Turn dough onto a lightly floured surface and knead lightly about 10 times. Pat into a 8-inch circle. Cut into eight wedges. Separate wedges and place on a greased baking sheet. In a small bowl whisk together the egg and buttermilk, brush over scones. Sprinkle with course sugar. Bake at 425 degrees for 12-15 minutes or until golden brown. Serve warm with honey butter! If using frozen blueberries, do not thaw before adding to the batter.

Ray had today off for Veteran’s day, he ran some errands and I just cleaned house.. Boy am I tired right now!! I am decorating a cake tonight for my step-mom’s birthday. It’s the first time I have made one for her, my dad and her have been married for about 5-6 years. They are very happy together.. I’m glad to see that!! I made her a chocolate cake with a strawberry filling, and chocolate frosting. I decided to make some chocolate roses and leaves for the top, I hope she likes it. My dad drives truck and is gone a lot, I hope he can get a job closer to home someday. I just talked to him and he clear across the USA from us! Wow he drives along ways from home!!

This weekend I will be posting my Thanksgiving menu. I hope you’re enjoying the recipes I have been posting. I am always coming up with something different.

Until next time everyone!!

Amanda 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 12, 2010 in Breads, Breakfast

 

Leave a Reply

 
