RSS

Pumpkin Cranberry Bread

14 Nov

Hello Everyone,

Here’s a recipe on mine that was published in last years Taste of the Holidays from our local newspaper.

Pumpkin Cranberry Bread:

3/4 cup unsalted butter, softened

2 cup packed light brown sugar

3 large eggs

1 can (15 oz.) solid-pack pumpkin

3-1/2 cups all-purpose flour

2 tsp. cinnamon

1/4 tsp. each-ground ginger, nutmeg, and cloves

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1 cup chopped and toasted walnuts or pecans

1 cup sweetened dried cranberries

In a small microawavable bowl, cover the cranberries with water and cook for 4-5 minutes; drain and set aside. In a large mixing bowl, cream the butter and brown sugar. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Add pumpking and spices; mix well (mixture may appear curdled). Combine the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt; add to pumpkin mixture, beating on low-speed just until moistened. Fold in the nuts and cranberries. Pour into 2 greased 9x5x2-inch loaf pans and bake at 350 for 40-50 minutes or until tester comes out clean. Cool in pans for 10 minutes then cool completely before slicing.

Friday went really well at Ronald McDonald house. I made toffee bars that were topped with melted chocolate and pumpkin bars topped with cream cheese frosting.  I got an email yesterday from the director of the place and she said they were wonderful! Everyone who tasted them said they were really good, and she said keep those recipes in the files to make again!!! I’m happy this time went better than my last visit. 🙂

I dropped off the cake to my step-mom on Friday later that day and had a really good visit with her. They seem to be doing ok there..

I am still working on posting my Thanksgiving menu. We had some sink problems yesterday. Well it was like this, I was in a pissy mood all day and when Ray asked me if I was alright I said NO. He’s say what’s wrong? I said I am sick and tired of hearing that kitchen faucet dripping all the time!!! He did try to tighten the faucet on top, but that did not help. So, I said well then I am going to call the landlord and see if they will send someone to fix it! That got Ray motivated and he went and bought a brand new faucet and replaced the old one! Sometimes, all I have to do is say I’m going to call the landlord or start doing something myself, then Ray will jump in and get it done. It works most of the time not always…  All weekend he’s been going through old newspapers, because I said there is an old smell coming from his office. EWWWW!!! I try to be patient with him as much as I can, he does work a lot and takes care of all my pills ect.. Sometimes I just get tired of waiting on him to get thing’s done. We need to exercise, my Dr. was really upset with some of the weight I have gained. I said it’s water weight from the steroids! Well maybe not all of it is, but who knows… We are looking at joining the Y that’s just down the road from us. I don’t know what I will be able to do there, at least I won’t be the only fat person people will be looking at!! I know the exercise will help. Before I had to stop working, I belonged to gym that’s just for women and I loved it. I loved the energy I got from working out. So I hope with Ray and I both going we will have more energy plus lose the weight.. My weight has been a life long war with me. I grew up with my family teasing me all the time about what I ate and how I looked. I also got it from kids at school. I don’t what was worse the teasing at home or at school.. Home was the worst.. I should have felt safe at home and loved, but I never felt that at home.. It’s only been since I have been with Ray that I have felt like someone truly loved me for who I am and isn’t trying to make me into something I’m not. I guess you can tell I’m venting right now…

I am cooking up my Thanksgiving menu up today. Here’s what I am making, roasted duck with parsnips, spinach risotto, broccoli gratin, spring herb salad in parmesan cheese cups topped with fried goat cheese rounds, and orange floating islands. I have already made the parmesan cheese rolls. I know this isn’t the traditional Thanksgiving menu, I love making different thing’s. My family only ever want’s the same thing every year. I am thinking of roasting a goose for Christmas. I have never tried goose before, I think it would be a nice change..

Well I better go for now, I need to get cooking!!!

Until next time!!!

Amanda 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

 
