RSS

Thanksgiving Menu

16 Nov

Hello everyone,

Here’s part of the menu I have been working on. I’m sorry I am late in posting this… I have been having a lot of headaches, so I am really slooowww!!!

Salad with Fried Goat Cheese in Parmesan Cheese Cups:

Ok to this one there isn’t really any recipe, I’ll just write down how I made this..

First you make the parmesan cheese cups; In a small 6-inch non-stick skillet put a small layer of parmesan cheese in bottom of pan. Let cheese get crispy around the edges. (It took me a couple of times the first time I made these to get them to look right). Flip cheese over with a small spatula, flatten it out, then lay cheese over a lightly greased bowl, let dry. The cheese will need a couple of hours to dry out and get crispy. Next put some salad greens in cups, and toss in some capers, and dried sweetened cranberries. To make vinaigrette, put 1 tbsp. stone ground mustard in a bowl add 2 tbsp. balsamic vinegar, 2 tbsp. grapeseed oil, salt and pepper to taste; blend well. For fried goat cheese rounds, use firm round goat cheese. Coat each side with panko breadcrumbs, fry in hot oil on both sides, until crispy; about 1 minute per side. Place on top of each salad. Lightly drizzle each salad with vinaigrette. Serve at once.

Parmesan Cheese Rolls:

1-1/3 cups sour milk (110-130 degrees)

1 stick unsalted butter 4 oz., melted

2 tsp. kosher salt

1 tbsp. active dry yeast

3-3/4 cups all-purpose flour

1 cup shredded parmesan cheese

In a mixing bowl (again I just use my Kitchenaide to mix my dough) with paddle attachment lightly beat milk, butter, salt yeast, and cheese together. Add flour and mix with dough hook until you get a sticky soft dough, about 5 minutes. Turn dough into a lightly greased bowl, cover with plastic wrap and let raise until doubled in bulk, about 1 hour. Lightly grease a 9-inch round or square baking pan, and roll dough into balls to fit pan. Let raise again until almost doubled, about 30 minutes. Bake for 20-25 minutes at 350 degrees. In the last 5 minutes of baking sprinkle tops with more parmesan cheese. These are so tasty with just some butter!!!

Broccoli Gratin:

1 bunch broccoli, 1-1/4 lbs. cut into flowerets and peel and cut up the stalks.

2 cups whole milk

2 tbsp. unsalted butter

2 tbsp. all-purpose flour

1/2 cup shredded Gruyère cheese

1/8 tsp. nutmeg

salt and black pepper to taste

1/2 cup shredded parmesan cheese

1/2 panko bread crumbs

In a large pot of boiling salted water, cook the broccoli until just crisp tender. Lay out onto paper towels to cool and get dry; about 15 minutes. For sauce melt butter in a medium saucepan and flour and cook for 1 minute over medium-low heat, stirring constantly; do let it become brown. Add milk and whisk slowly until sauce is slightly thickened, about 5 minutes. Add cheese, nutmeg, and salt and pepper to taste. Mix sauce with broccoli, put into a 9-inch square baking dish. Combine panko breadcrumbs and cheese, place on top of broccoli, and bake at 350 for 20-25 minutes, until the edges are bubbling and topping is brown.

I’ll try to get the other 2 recipes posted tomorrow night. I have 2 dr apts tomorrow and who know’s  what they will say. I don’t have any cakes this week!! YES!! I was going to make the Birthday mission cake this week, but one other baker wanted to make it, so I am off the hook. I get to rest this week!! I have 6 sheet cakes  to get done for next week so not too much resting will be going on!!!

I am looking forward to going to TF for Thanksgiving, I don’t know where we will be eating at or with. It will be nice to get away from here and not have to cook for my family.

Well I better go for now.. I need to sleep..

Until next time everyone!

Amanda 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 16, 2010 in Breads, Salads, Side Dishes, Thanksgiving Menu

 

Leave a Reply

 
