RSS

My Grandma Shirley

24 Nov

Hello Everyone,

This isn’t going to be an easy posting for me.. My grandma Shirley passed away Sunday morning. Sunday Ray came in the bedroom early in the morning and delivered the bad news to me. I am numb now, after spending the last 2 days crying. My grandma Shirley was and is still very special to me. A lot of people tell us we look, laugh, and sound a lot alike. I loved spending time with her in her house when I was younger. She always made the best pancakes. I can still remember her in her bathrobe in the kitchen flipping them on her griddle. She also made the best chicken noodle soup with home-made noodles, and we would sprinkle it with lemon pepper. She would heat up water all the time for grandpa’s russian tea, it made her kitchen smelled like cinnamon, oranges, and cloves. Every Christmas she would make us divinity (by hand) I don’t remember her ever using a mixer other than a small hand mixer for cake batter.  She would always tell me the best memory she had of me was when I was little kid sitting in her counter eating her dill pickles she made.  Grandma took care of a lot of us kids while our parents had to work or something else.. The last time I saw her was over a year ago, she lived 6 hours from where I live. I wish I could have seen her before she died, but she couldn’t travel and nor could I. Ray and I made the trip to them when she was in rehab in a nursing home in another town that’s about 3 hours from us. We were able to eat dinner with them and spend some time with them there. I wish I could have had more time with her… Right now I don’t know what else to say.. This is getting really hard for me.. I haven’t even wanted to write this, it’s been too painful…

I did get the 6 mission sheet cakes done, just to have something to do… I do have a hospice cake next Tuesday..

 They are having a funeral service for my grandma next week and we are going. It’s been several years since I have been to my hometown, I hate it there.. Were not going to Twin Fall for Thanksgiving, partly because of the weather.. I am just going to cook a turkey at home and watch the parade on tv.. Maybe I’ll write more tomorrow, just don’t have anything else to say right now..

Amanda…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 24, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
