RSS

Coffee Almond Angel Cake

28 Nov

Hello Everyone,

Here is the cake recipe I made for my mom’s birthday, she loves coffee and angel food cake so I knew that she would love this one!! this recipe comes from the state fair winning cake book I have. It’s from Kathleen Lucido Harper Woods, MI.

Coffee Angel Food Cake

For the cake:***

1-1/4 cups cake flour

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1-1/2  cups large egg whites (about 10)

1-1/4 tsp. cream of tartar

1 tsp. salt

1-1/3 cups granulated sugar

1 tsp. vanilla

1/4 tsp. almond extract

Coffee Buttercream:

2/3 cup granulated sugar

3/4 tsp. cornstarch

2 tbsp. instant coffee (dry)

5 large egg yolks

1/3 cup whole milk

1-1/2 tsp. vanilla

1-1/2 cups unsalted butter, softened 3 sticks (12 oz.)

Garnish:

1-1/2 cups sliced almonds

1/3 cup granulated sugar

2 tbsp. water

1 oz. semi-sweet chocolate, melted and cooled

Heat oven to 375 degrees. Mix flour and 1/2 cup sugar; set aside. Beat egg whites, cream of tartar and salt in a large bowl with electric mixer on medium speed until soft peeks form. Gradually beat in 1-1/3 cups sugar, 1/3 cup at a time, beating after each addition until stiff peaks form and adding vanilla and almond extract with last addition of sugar. Sprinkle flour-sugar mixture over egg white mixture, folding in with rubber spatula just until sugar-flour mixture disappears. Pour into an ungreased angel food cake pan (tube pan), 10×4-inches. Bake 35-40 minutes or until cracks feel dry and top springs back when touched lightly on top. Immediately turn upside down onto heatproof funnel or bottle. Let hang about 2 hours or until cake is completely cool. Loosen side of cake with knife or long metal spatula; remove from pan.

*** You can also purchase a baked angel food cake or use an angel food cake mix if you want to..

For the buttercream; Mix sugar and cornstarch in 1-1/2 quart saucepan. Stir in coffee and egg yolks until blended. Stir in milk and vanilla. Cook over mediun heat about 2 minutes, stirring constantly, until thickened. Remove from heat; set aside. Beat butter in medium bowl on medium speed, scraping bowl, occasionally, until fluffy. Gradually beat in cooked mixture, scraping bowl occasionally, until smooth. Cool completely. This will thicken while it cools. At first I thought I had done something wrong when I made this, but it thickened up nicely for the cake. You can’t pipe it like regular buttercream, its to soft..

For the almond garnish: Heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease a large cookie sheet with cooking spray. Mix all ingredients in a bowl until well coated. Bake 12-15 minutes until light brown. Immediately loosen almond mixture; break into clusters.

To assemble cake: Slice cake into 3 layers place one layer on serving plate. Spread with a thin layer of the buttercream, repeat with remaining layers. Coat the side with the almond crunch, drizzle top with semi-sweet chocolate. Store loosely covered in the refrigerator.

I have one Angel cake to get done between today and tomorrow. It’s for a hospice patient, he was a dr. I thought about making a drs. coat with pens ect.. coming out of the pockets, but I’m not sure yet what I’ll do… I bought all the stuff to make the sweet 16 cupcakes for the lady at Ray’s office. I am working on making the chocolate number 16 today and yesterday when we bought everything I forgot to look for a bow tie chocolate mold. I’ll have to look for it Tuesday after I drop off the cake. I might have to mold them out of candy clay, we’ll see..

 I am having a hard time concentrating on all this, since we are leaving for the memorial services on Friday for my grandma. I haven’t been to Salmon in 5 years, not since my uncle Jimmy was killed. I have seen my grandmother, last year she was in a nursing home for some rehab in Idaho Falls, so Ray took me up there to see her then, I am so happy he took me up there then!!! (I’m sorry if I talked about this already, I can’t remember if I did or not??) I hate the town Salmon, a lot of bad memories there for me… My ex-husband used to live up there, but I know for a fact he’s not there anymore. He used to work in the main grocery store they have, and whenever we went up there I wouldn’t go in that store. I do not want to be around him at all. He was abusive to me, in a lot of ways. It’s taken years to get over the fear and the pain. I am so thankful for my husband Ray, he has been so patient with me…

Well I better go for now, need to work with chocolate, cakes, and other thing’s!!!

Until next time..

Amanda 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on November 28, 2010 in Cakes

 

Leave a Reply

 
