RSS

Cream Of Artichoke Soup

16 Dec

Hello Everyone,

Here is a recipe I made a awhile ago. I LOVE artichokes in anything!!

Cream Of Artichoke Soup:

1/2 cup chopped green onion

2 medium carrots, peeled and sliced

2 ribs celery, chopped

1/2 cup unsalted butter, (1 stick, 4oz.) divided

4 cups vegetable broth

1 can (14oz.) artichoke hearts, drained and sliced

1 cup sliced fresh mushrooms

1 bay leaf

1/2 tsp. round thyme

1/2 tsp.  ground oregano

1/8 tsp. cayenne pepper

3 tbsp. all-purpose flour

1 cup heavy cream

salt and pepper to taste

In a large saucepan over medium heat, saute the onion, carrots, celery, and mushrooms with 1/4 cup of butter. Add vegetable broth, artichokes, bay leaf, thyme, oregano, and cayenne pepper. Simmer on low heat for 15-20  minutes. In a small saucepan melt remaining 1/4 cup butter over low heat. Stir in flour and cook, stirring constantly, until mixture thickens. Slowly stir into soup mixture. Slowly add cream. Salt and pepper to taste. Cook 3-5 minutes or until slightly thickened and heated through.

As you can tell I haven’t posted much this month and I’m sorry about that. I just haven’t felt up to it. I have had a really bad bladder infection for the last 2 weeks, and I hope the meds they gave me will help… I have been feeling really blue about Christmas I have nothing done at all. In fact I feel no desire to do anything at all. The only decorations I have up are the Christmas cards we have gotten from Rays family and few of our friends. I did get a couple from my family also.. My mom wants us to come to her house for Christmas and she’s been asking me to plan some of the dinner. I haven’t felt very inspired to do anything yet, so we’ll see what happens I guess…

Ray’s Birthday is Saturday and I want to do something for him that day. As far as I have gotten is, I am making him chocolate and biscuits with bacon. The chocolate and biscuits is something he grew up eating. It’s just chocolate sauce poured over biscuits. I found a recipe that is close to what his mom made, so I hope he likes it.  I tried it once at one of his cousins home several years ago and wasn’t impressed, maybe my version will turn out better.. Who knows!! LOL!!

Ray delivered my lemon pie to the vet the other day and I hope he liked it. I just made a lemon pie and sent in with it a can of Reddi Whip. His request was for only lemon pie so that’s what he got. I did get the cake done for the mentally challenged adult. He is a fan of Micheal Jackson,  I asked for help on Wilton’s discussion forum and got a few replies. Ray enlarged an image for me on his computer and I made the image out of fondant and gloves. Then brushed just the gloves with silver luster dust. The lady said the young man would love it! I hope he did!! I do have another cake for the same place on Tuesday, but don’t know yet what I am making… I am baking for Ronald McDonald house this Friday and they said I could bake whatever I wanted. The director said they had a full house now.. I am thinking of making some bar cookies again. They were so easy to make last time and I didn’t feel as rushed as I normally do..

Well I better go for now, still feeling really blue. I know I should think more positive about thing’s after all I could have thing’s a lot worse. I know a lot of people are hurting more than we are… Help me feel more positive please… I’m going to try to, but it’s hard..

Until another time..

Amanda…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 16, 2010 in Soups

 

Leave a Reply

 
