RSS

Corn Pudding

21 Dec

Hello everyone,

I know I haven’t been very good about posting anything for a while… I’m still feeling a bit blue this time of year… I had another great-uncle pass away over the weekend. This makes 4 people in my family to pass away in just the last 6 months! I hope it stops, can’t take much more of this..

Here is a recipe I made last year for Christmas. My husband loved this one, of course anything with corn and bacon he loves!!!

Corn Pudding:

1/4 cup unsalted butter (1/2 stick) 4 oz.

1/4 cup all-purpose flour

1/4 cup finely chopped yellow onion

1 tbsp. granulated sugar

1 tsp. salt

1-1/2 cups half and half

4 cups drained canned corn

3 large eggs, lightly beaten

6 slices bacon, cooked and crumbled

1 tbsp. chopped fresh parsley

1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Melt butter in a large saucepan over medium heat. Stir in flour, onion, sugar, and salt. Increase heat to medium-high and cook, stirring constantly, until mixture thickens and bubbles. Continuing to stir constantly, add half and half and cook until mixture thickens. Remove from heat. Stir in corn, eggs, bacon, parsley, and cayenne. Pour into a lightly buttered 2-quart baking dish. Bake for 45-50 minutes or until knife inserted in center comes out clean.

My husband’s Birthday was Saturday and we didn’t do too much. We went to a restaurant here we like to go to on Friday, then on Saturday we went to see Tron in 3-D, it was a really good movie! On Saturday I made him something his mom made for him when he was growing up. Chocolate and biscuits. I had never heard of putting chocolate sauce on baking powder biscuits before. My dad made sausage gravy for them when I was a kid. I really liked the chocolate sauce of the biscuits, I’ll be making it more often. I’ll get the recipe and post it tomorrow, its super simple and so tasty!!!

We celebrated my grandma’s Birthday today. I guess my grandma just wanted spaghetti, salad, and pineapple upside-down cake. My aunt made all this for her today, since it was an impromptu party with just a few of us there. We had a nice time tonight..

Well I’m off to bed… I have A LOT to get done tomorrow!! An Angel cake to get finished and lots of Christmas baking to do… Nite all…

Amanda..

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 21, 2010 in Casseroles, Side Dishes

 

Leave a Reply

 
