RSS

Almond Flummery

03 Jan

Hello Everyone,

Here is a recipe that I made several years ago for Christmas…

This is a baked pudding it’s a little different and very tasty!!

 Ingredients:

3 large egg yolks

3 cups heavy cream, divided

3/4 cups Zwieback crackers crumbs,(found in the baby food section of store)

1/2 cup almond paste

2 tbsp. firmly packed light brown sugar

2 tbsp. granulated sugar

2 tbsp. rose flower water or orange flower water, found in gourmet specialty food stores

1/4 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg

3/4 cup golden raisins

1/4 cup toasted silvered almonds

 Directions: Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a large mixing bowl, beat egg yolks with 2 cups heavy cream until well blended. Stir in cracker crumbs and allow to sit for 5 minutes to soften. Blend in almond paste, brown sugar, rose flower water, cinnamon, and nutmeg. Stir in raisins. Sprinkle almonds in bottom of a lightly greased 1-quart ring mold. Pour mixture into mold. Cover top of mold tightly with aluminum foil. Place mold in a large pan and add hot water to larger pan to come halfway up sides of mold. Bake for 1 hour. Remove from oven and allow to cool 15 minutes in water. Remove mold from water; remove foil. Allow to cool to room temperature about 15 minutes. Unmold onto serving platter. Beat remaining 1 cup cream with the 2 tbsp granulated sugar until stiff peaks form. Serve sweetened whipped cream with almond flummery.

I am working on a veteran cake this week, he likes westerns. I found a cute cake from Wilton’s site. I asked some of my FB friends if it would be ok and not to cutesy. I think it will work out fine.. 

I am still going to post our New Years Eve’s dinner. I have been sick the last couple of days.. One of my drs called me today and said some of my blood work was off, nothing to worry about she said. My thyroid meds need to be adjusted and she said it looks like I have a viral infection.. I hope that would explain the stomach-aches, headaches, and dizziness I have been having.. We had a nice weekend Ray and I toured the Y that’s not far from us and we will be joining there soon. I have to get clearance from my dr first they said, because of my health issues. I am thinking about taking a couple of classes they have, one just for stretching your arms and legs and I might try the yoga class to.. Not to sure about the swimming and the exercise machines yet.. We’ll have to work into those later I think..  It’s a really nice place!!

Well I better go for now, night everyone…

Amanda.. 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 3, 2011 in Dessert's

 

Leave a Reply

 
