RSS

English Trifle

08 Jan

Hello everyone,

Here is one of the recipes I made this past week. I have never made a custard like this one before, you’ll notice that it takes whole eggs instead of just egg yolks. It made a very rich custard, and only adds to the decadent flavor of this trifle!! So yummy!!!

4 large eggs

3 tbsp granulated sugar

2-1/2 tsp. cornstarch

2 cups whole milk, scalded*

1 tsp. vanilla extract

1/8 tsp. freshly grated nutmeg

1o- (2-inch) macaroons

1/2 cup cream sherry, or to taste

6-0z. red raspberry jam (1/2 of 12-oz.) bottle

6 oz. pound cake sliced into 1/4-inch slices

2 packages (10-oz.) no-sugar added frozen raspberries, thawed, drained and divided

1 cup heavy whipping cream, whipped for topping and add 1 tbsp. granulated sugar plus 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract

In heavy saucepan or in the top of a double boiler, whisk eggs. Combine 3 tbsp. sugar with the cornstarch; add to eggs, blending well. Pour scalded milk into mixture in a steady stream, stirring constantly. Cook mixture over medium heat, stirring until thickened ( 5-6 minutes). Remove from heat and add 1 tsp. vanilla and nutmeg and cool completely before assembling the trifle. Brush macaroons with sherry. Line bottom of trifle bowl or (clear glass bowl) with a single layer of macaroons. Spread flat side of cookies with jam and arrange in one layer around side of bowl (jam side out). Coat all cookies with another generous layer of jam. Spoon a portion of custard over jam layer. Arrange one-half of cake slices over custard. Carefully brush cake with more sherry. Spread jam over cake. Add a layer of raspberries. Repeat layers of custard, cake slices, sherry, and jam. Cover with raspberries and top with custard. If you have any cookies left arrange them on top, flat side down. Cover tightly and refrigerate overnight. To serve, top with sweetened whipped cream. *** To scald milk heat milk in a saucepan on medium-low heat, just until tiny bubbles appear around the edge of saucepan.

I had to take in the cake the other day to the vet. I haven’t heard anything about it yet. The lady in the office really liked it and was asking me questions on how to make a cake like it. I answered her questions the best I could, she said husband’s birthday was Saturday… I do have one cake and am making 2 banana pies for a couple more veteran’s next week. I like it when they ask for something different other than cake, I like to make something different once and awhile for a change..

 Ray and I both had visit with our Dr. the other day. She is going to write-up a letter for us so we can join the Y, I joked and said just tell them were fat and need to exercise! LOL!! She said your to funny! I made her laugh!! LOL!! She said the water and just the exercise classes that keep me flexible would be better for me right now. Since my blood clot hasn’t completely gone away. I did have the ultrasound the other day and the tech said there isn’t anything new which is good, but the one behind my knee is still there… Don’t know what the Dr might decide to do for it… I know one time they talked about putting a special thing in the vein to help it heal, I’m not sure if they will.. Just have to wait and see..

On a different note I did make several of December’s Food Network magazine’s recipes, but wont talk about them today.. Not sure when I’ll post about it.. I just don’t want to talk about December yet.. I made several of the cookies from that issue and well my other post about Christmas day talks about how that went.. Sorry sore subject still for me..

Well until next time everyone…

Amanda 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 8, 2011 in Dessert's

 

2 responses to “English Trifle

  1. Lynn

    January 9, 2011 at 7:35 pm

    Hi Amanda, your trifle sounds amazing–especially the addition of the macaroons!

    I left you a couple of blog awards on the Seasoned & Stirred! blog. Stop by and pick them up if you feel so inclined. http://seasonedandstirred.blogspot.com/2011/01/blog-awards-january-2011.html

    Happy New Year!

     
  2. angelcakebaker35

    January 10, 2011 at 11:46 am

    Thank you so much Lynn!! The trifle was wonderful!! And thank you so much for your support!!! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
