RSS

Cream Of Pumpkin Soup with Herb Rolled Toast

11 Jan

Hello Everyone,

Here’s a couple of recipes I made the other day… I wasn’t to sure if Ray would like this soup, he like’s more chunky soup not smooth soups like I do.

Cream of Pumpkin Soup:

1 yellow onion, thinly sliced

4 garlic cloves minced

4 tbsp. unsalted butter

2 tbsp. olive oil

2 cups orange juice

1 (15-oz.) can pure pumpkin puree

2 cups chicken broth

1 tsp. salt

1/2 tsp. white pepper

1/4 tsp. ground nutmeg

1 cup heavy cream

In a large saucepan, saute the onion in butter and oil until soft. Add garlic and cook a few minutes more. Add orange juice, pumpkin, broth and seasonings. Simmer 20 minutes. Puree mixture in a food processor or blender until smooth. Return to saucepan and stir in heavy cream; do not boil. Serve hot.

Rolled Herb Toast:

1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted

1 package (1/2-oz.) herb salad dressing mix

1 tsp. dried dill weed

1/4 tsp. granulated garlic

20 slices standard size white or wheat bread

Preheat oven to 300 degrees. Combine melted butter, dressing mix, dill weed, and garlic in a medium bowl. Trim crust from bread and save for a different use. Flatten each slice with a rolling-pin and roll tightly. Coat each roll with butter mixture. Place rolls on an ungreased baking sheet and bake 15-20 minutes or until lightly browned, turning several times. Serve hot. Toast may be frozen or stored in an airtight container. Reheat before serving.

Right now it’s 3:30am and I can’t sleep right now.. Uhhh!!! I did get the cake done for the NICU baby around 1am, so all I have to do is wrap it up later in the morning. I have night’s like this sometimes where I can’t sleep, I think it’s the medication they have me on for the Sarcoid..

Well I am off to bed now, I am getting very sleepy now.. YAWN!!!! 🙂

Amanda 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 11, 2011 in Soups

 

Leave a Reply

 
