RSS

Orange-Flavored Honey Cake

15 Jan

Hello Everyone,

Here’s a cake I made a couple of years ago for the honey contest at the fair. I don’t remember if I won or where I placed, it’s been awhile… Wish I could remember… I do know it tastes really good!! 🙂

Orange-Flavored Honey Cake

3 tbsp. unsalted butter, softened

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup honey

2 large eggs, separated

1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1/2 tsp. baking powder

1/4 tsp. salt

1/4 cup orange juice

1/2 tsp orange extract

2 tbsp. orange zest

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. With 1 tbsp. of the butter grease the bottom and sides of a 9x5x3-inch loaf pan lightly dust with flour, set aside. In a mixing bowl cream the remaining butter and sugar together until creamy, add egg yolks one at time, beating well after each. Beat constantly, slowly add the honey in a thin stream. In a bowl sift together the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt. Pour half of flour mixture into egg mixture, mix well. Then add the orange juice and remaining flour mixture. Stir in the orange extract and zest. In a clean mixing bowl beat the egg whites until stiff peaks form. Fold the whites gently into orange batter until thoroughly mixed. Pour into prepared baking pan. Bake for 40-45 minutes. Serve warm with honey butter or sweetened whipped cream. You can add sweetened dried cranberries or nuts to this as well. Enjoy! 🙂

The cake deliveries went well this week. I was afraid the NICU cake might get put off again, but it didn’t.. The only delivery that went well weird was the pies to the vets home. I got up early Wednesday morning to make the custard fresh so the crust wouldn’t get soggy, poured the custard and banana’s in the crust and refrigerated them for 2 hours to set and cool down. Monday I had bought a can of reddi-whip for the topping. Well the pies set up great, I layered on the cream in a pretty design and added some more banana’s for decoration. I wrapped them up and set them in the trunk of my car and off I went to deliver!!! It’s a half hour drive to the VA home and it had been raining all morning. When I got to the VA home I double parked my car, so I was in a hurry to get them in the office of the VA. The cake looked great, but the cream on the banana pies had melted!! ACK!! It was all under the pie tins and inside of the plastic we use to wrap the cakes and pies with. The lady at the office said not to worry about it, they would clean up the pies and add more fresh whipped cream to the top. I said I don’t know what happened??? It could have been the rain and the humidity in the air that day.. I also called the lady that sends us the names of the vet’s monthly Birthdays to say how sorry I was that had happened. I haven’t heard back from her yet, so I don’t know what has happened.. I hope she calls me next week..

We are heading of to Twin Falls later morning, for Ray’s aunt’s Birthday. I made her a heart-shaped almond sour cream cake, with vanilla buttercream and made a fresh raspberry filling. I made about 200 light pink, and light purple drop flowers last night for the cake. I still need to decorate the cake this morning. I was so tired last night I went to bed and 8pm. I woke up at 2:30 am and decided to surf the net and write this morning before Ray wakes up..

Well I better go for now, need to get the cake done!! 🙂

Until next time everyone..

Amanda 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 15, 2011 in Cakes

 

Leave a Reply

 
