RSS

Swedish Meatballs

17 Jan

Hello Everyone,

Here is a recipe I made up for my husband awhile ago. We had something similar at our church group one night and he begged me to make it for weeks! ūüôā

Swedish Meatballs:

Meatballs:

1 large egg, lightly beaten

1/2 cup whole milk

2 tbsp. ketchup

1 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce

2 garlic cloves, minced

1 tbsp. fresh parsley, minced

1 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. black pepper

3/4 cup old-fashioned rolled oats

1-lb. ground beef

1/2-lb. ground pork sausage

4 tbsp. all-purpose flour

Sauce:

3 cups fresh mushrooms, sliced

1/4 cup plus 3 tbsp. unsalted butter, divided

3 tbsp. all-purpose flour

1/2 tsp. fresh thyme, finely chopped

salt and pepper to taste

1 can (14-oz.) low-sodium beef broth

1 cup sour cream

1 tbsp. fresh parsley, chopped

For meatballs: In a large bowl, combine all the ingredients together for the meatballs (not the flour yet). Shape into 1-1/2-inch balls. Roll in flour, shaking off excess. Place 1-inch apart on a greased 15x10x1-inch baking sheet. Bake, uncovered at 400 degrees for 10 minutes. Turn meatballs, bake for 12-15 minutes longer or until meat is no longer pink.

For cream sauce: In a large skillet over medium-heat, melt the 1/4 cup butter and brown the mushrooms; set aside. Meanwhile, for sauce, melt the remaining butter in saucepan over medium heat. Stir in the flour, thyme, salt and pepper until smooth. Gradually add broth and the sour cream. Bring to a boil; cook and stir for 2-3 minutes or until thickened. Stir in the mushrooms and parsley. Drain the meatballs on paper-towels; transfer to a serving dish; add sauce over top. Serve with hot cooked noodles or rice.

The trip to Twin Falls went really well! Rays aunt was delighted to see the cake I made for her. I made a 2-layer¬†white almond sour cream cake¬†with a raspberry filling and vanilla buttercream. I made about 200 little drop flowers in light¬†pink and light¬†purple¬†royal icing. The look on her¬†face said it all, she was thrilled!¬†Her daughters and¬†some grandchildren were there and some other cousins, I’m sorry everyone¬†I have a hard time keeping¬†up with all the names and the faces. They loved the cake too!!¬†

I don’t have any cakes at all this week, which I am happy about. I need¬†to rest and get some other thing’s done around my house…¬†I am really tired even though Ray does all the driving and carries all¬†the bags¬†ect… The stocking’s help my legs from hurting so much.. Pray for me as,¬†we are going to start going to the Y this week, I need encouragement… This isn’t easy for me, I don’t like people¬†to¬†stare at me…Ray doesn’t realize¬†it, but I see it when people stare at me, because of my weight. The steroids have made my face so puffy,¬†that I look awful, plus my hair is falling out, getting curly,¬†and growing in all the wrong places!! ¬†Ray is even thinking about entering a weight-loss¬†contest that’s been advertising, I said I’m not going to enter it, that’s too much pressure for me… I have enough other pressure and crap that I don’t need that..

Well enough for now, it’s hard for me to watch a movie and blog at the same time…

Until next time..

Amanda..

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 17, 2011 in Meats

 

Leave a Reply

 
