RSS

Meatloaf with Carmalized Onion Topping

19 Jan

Hello Everyone,

Ray and I love meatloaf, its easy to make plus makes great sandwiches the next day! ūüôā

Caramelized Onions:

4 large yellow onions, thinly sliced

4 tbsp. unsalted butter

2 tbsp. olive oil

salt and pepper to taste

Meatloaf:

1-lb. ground turkey meat

1/2-lb. ground pork

1 cup whole milk

1 tbsp. Worcestershire sauce

1 tsp. poultry seasoning

1/2 tsp. salt

1/4 tsp. black pepper

4 garlic cloves, minced

1/2 cup fresh dry breadcrumbs

1 large egg

1 small onion, finely chopped

To make onion topping, melt butter with the olive oil, and cook onions on medium heat¬†until onions have browned and caramelized¬†in color, about 1 hour. Use a non-stick pan and stir with a wooden spoon every¬†10 minutes or so.¬† Heat oven to 350 degrees, and combine all meatloaf ingredients together, do not overmix. Place in a 9×5-inch¬†loaf pan. I like to use¬† my stoneware loaf pan, the meatloaf get’s a nice crust. Top with caramelized onions and bake for 1-15¬† minutes or until a thermometer reaches 170 degrees.

Had great time at my church women’s group last night. Heard some great¬†testimonies that really moved me. Later the ladies prayed for me, and I am believing¬†that Jesus will heal my lung disease! I found out that a lot¬†of them go the Y also. I said please pray for me to have¬†the¬†courage to go and keep going!! One lady last night said that I look younger than the first time we met! I said really? First time we met at the church group was over a year ago. That’s hard for me to compute in my brain, that I could look younger, when I feel so fat from the steroids. So hopefully in another year’s time I’ll look even better, that would be great!!! ūüôā

Going to be a slow week for me with no cakes to bake, don’t know what to do with myself… I am working on a Valentines menu for Ray and I.¬† I¬†want to¬†say¬†to anyone who follow’s my blog that I’m sorry I didn’t finish making the New Year’s eve menu. I haven’t even¬†made the broccoli dish¬†or the¬†sweet potatoes. I have all the stuff for them, so maybe with no cakes with¬†week, I’ll make them.. Maybe…¬†They would be great to eat anytime, I guess, not just on a holiday..

Until next time everyone…

Amanda ūüôā

 
2 Comments

Posted by on January 19, 2011 in Meats

 

2 responses to “Meatloaf with Carmalized Onion Topping

  1. Jessica

    January 20, 2011 at 2:40 pm

    This sounds great! I love meatloaf and I love caramelized onions so I know this would be a winner in my book!

     
    • angelcakebaker35

      January 20, 2011 at 6:01 pm

      Thank Jessica! It was a winner for us too! ūüôā

       

Leave a Reply

 
