RSS

Oriental Cabbage Salad

27 Jan

Hello Everyone,

Here is on of my grandma Shirley recipes. I love this cabbage salad, it’s my favorite way to eat cabbage.

1 large head cabbage, chopped

1 small onion, finely chopped

3 tbsp. sesame seeds

Dressing:

1/2 white vinegar

1/4 cup vegetable oil

2 tbsp. granulated sugar

1 tsp. season salt

1 package ramen noodles (throw away the seasoning package or save it for something else) or you can use chow mein noodles

In a large bowl the combine cabbage, onion and sesame seeds. In another bowl whisk all dressing ingredient’s together until smooth. Pour over cabbage mixture and toss to coat all the ingredients together. Just before serving toss in the crunchy noodles. My grandma always used the ramen noodles with this recipe.

I am baking at the Ronald McDonald house in the morning. I am baking a Texas Chocolate sheet cake and mandarin orange bars. They are a couple different recipes I am trying out on them.. I did get the Birthday sheet cake done today for the nursing home party for tomorrow. I made chocolate cake with chocolate frosting and crushed Oreo cookies to decorate around the sides of the cake. Looks yummy!!! I am making a small cake for my nephew’s Birthday party, he will be 10! He is growing up to fast… Ray and I are taking him out Sunday. Just the 3 of us, out to eat and a movie. This seems to work better for us, since I don’t get along with my brother or my mom right now.. Just want to do something special with just our nephew this time…

We walked 7 laps around the track at the Y tonight and was happy I could make it that much. There wasn’t as many people there tonight it was about 8:30pm and it was a lot quieter. We are going to be there on Saturday morning when they open at 7am, hopefully it will be really quite!!

Well I better go for now, getting really sleepy.. YAWN!!

Goodnight all..

Amanda 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 27, 2011 in Salads

 

Leave a Reply

 
