RSS

Texas Chocolate Sheet Cake

28 Jan

Hello everyone,

Here’s a different version of the Texas Chocolate sheet cake, and one of my favorites! I have seen so many different version’s of this recipe published and floating around the net that I have no idea where it originally came from. I looked it up and a lot of other bloggers and people have published their version of this recipe, I hope you like my version! 🙂

Texas Chocolate Sheet Cake:

1-cup unsalted butter, 2 sticks

1-cup water

1/4 cup cocoa powder, I like to use the Saco brand, it’s a special blend of dutch process and regular cocoa powder

2 cups granulated sugar

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/8 tsp. salt

2 large eggs

1 tsp. baking soda

1/2 cup sour cream

1 tsp. vanilla

For frosting:

1/2 cup unsalted butter, 1 stick

1/4 cup cocoa powder

1/2 cup sour cream

4-1/4 cups sifted powdered sugar

1/2 tsp. vanilla

chopped pecans or walnuts

Combine butter, water, and cocoa in a saucepan over medium heat; heat until butter melts. Add sugar, flour, salt eggs, baking soda, sour cream, and vanilla; mix well. Pour into a 15x10x1-inch jelly roll pan. Bake at 350 for 20 minutes. For frosting: Combine butter, cocoa and sour cream in a saucepan, bring to a boil. Add remaining ingredient’s and mix well. Spread frosting over hot cake and sprinkle with chopped nuts.

I made this cake today for the Ronald McDonald house plus some mandarin orange bars. I don’t know yet if they liked them, I’ll post the mandarin orange bar recipe later if they do..

I walked 7 laps on the track at the Y last night Yahoo!! Hopefully Saturday we can make it to 10 laps!!!

Well I’ll talk to ya all later!!

Amanda 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on January 28, 2011 in Cakes

 

Leave a Reply

 
