RSS

Fire House Chili

21 Feb

Hello All

I made this recipe I made a long time ago, and I don’t remember what it was for… I just know it’s good and I love chili!!!

2 tbsp. olive oil

1-lb. ground turkey

1-lb. ground turkey sausage

8 bay leaves

1 large onion, finely chopped

8 garlic cloves, minced

4 tbsp. red wine vinegar

2 tsp. ground allspice

1 tsp. cinnamon

1-1/2 tsp salt

2 tbsp. chili powder

1 tsp. ground cumin

1 tsp. dried oregano

2 tbsp. liquid smoke

1 (12.oz) can tomato paste

2 (4 oz.) can chopped fire roasted green chilies

1 (14.5 oz.) can, diced tomatoes with jalapeno peppers, undrained

6 cups water

2 (15 oz.) cans black beans, rinsed and drained

Heat oil in a large heavy pot over medium-high heat. Add the meats to the pot. Break up any lumps with a spoon or fork and cook stirring occasionally, until meat is evenly browned. Stir in the next 15 ingredient’s, bring to simmer uncovered on medium heat for 2-3 hours. Add black beans to the pot 1/2 hour before serving. Serve with chopped onions, sour cream, cheddar cheese, and hot sauce.

 Ray and I delivered the pillow cake on Sunday before church. I am so happy with how it turned out. A lady with a walker said that’s such a pretty cake! Will you still be making cakes in September? I said oh sure we will, she said that’s good my Birthday is in September!! LOL!! Love making the cakes for people their, they love all the pretty cakes that get delivered there.. Tomorrow I am making a german chocolate cake for a vet. He likes westerns, so I don’t know for sure what I will do, I just know it all has to be done tomorrow!! I should have baked the cake today, but had to many other thing’s going on…

Ray had the day off, so we just ran errand’s around town and did a few thing’s in the house.. Right now beside’s being on the computer I am watching my favorite foodie movie “Chocolat”. I love watching foodie movies, duhhh!!! LOL!! It’s an easy thing to guess about me!!

I have been reading a good book too, it’s called Fool Proofing Your Life.. It’s been very interesting.. I do love to read, just haven’t been very good at it lately.. This book has been really good to read, I am learning a lot about myself and other relationships in my life..

Well I better go for now, I’m getting really tired.. Yawn!!

Night all 🙂

Amanda

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 21, 2011 in Soups

 

Leave a Reply

 
