RSS

Italian Sausage and Bean Soup

11 Mar

Hello Everyone,

Here is one of my recipe’s that was published in a Taste of Home cookbook a couple of years ago. When I got the cookbook in the mail I was oh on I didn’t order this!! Well imagine my surprise when I read the letter they sent me and said this was free since I had a recipe published in it! WOW I was so excited!! The book is called Everyday Slowcooker & One-Dish Specialties, and here is the link if you want to see it or buy it..

http://www.shoptasteofhome.com/Everyday-Slowcooker-One-Dish-Specialties/38477,default,pd.html&cgid=CBK_SHA

Here’s the recipe..

Italian Sausage and Bean Soup:

1 lb. hot Italian sausage

1/2 lb. ground turkey meat

3 tbsp. whole milk

1 beaten egg

1/3 cup Italian style fine dry bread crumbs

1 (8oz.) can no salt added tomato sauce

2 (14.5oz.) cans no salt added tomatoes, undrained

1 (15.oz) can white beans, undrained

1 (15oz.) can black beans, undrained

2 green onions, white and green parts, finely sliced

1 tsp. granulated garlic

1 tsp. Italian seasoning, crushed

1/2 tsp, red pepper flakes, crushed

1 cup water

In a medium bowl mix the first 5  ingredient’s together and shape into 1-inch meatballs. Spray a skillet with non-stick cooking spray, and brown all meatballs in all sides. Set aside to drain. In a 3-1/2 to 4-quart crock-pot place all the remaining ingredient’s in and the meatballs. Cook on low heat for 8-10 hours or on high for 4-5 hours.

I made Guy’s whole wheat preztals last night and they were very good!!! I made half with coarse kosher salt and the other half with raw coarse sugar. I like the salt one’s better than the sugar one’s… I am making the chocolate mouse cakes later today…

As I sit here and write this I am watching Oprah which I rarely do, but she has that octomom Nadia on. I wanted to see what they were going to talk about. Well it’s been interesting to say the least. I am amazed that this women has 14 children all under the age of 9! You know at first I thought this women was crazy, still do a bit.. Sorry but anyone who has 6 kids already and couldn’t afford them then goes on to have 8 more is nuts!!! I would be beyond happy to have just one child, that would be enough for me…

Please pray for all the people affected by the earthquake and tsunami today. I have friends and family in some of those area’s. I have been praying for them all day.. I am hoping they are all ok.. Makes me wonder when the next big earthquake will be???

Well until next time everyone…

Amanda.. 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 11, 2011 in Soups

 

2 responses to “Italian Sausage and Bean Soup

  1. mary

    March 14, 2011 at 5:56 am

    It’s so hard to find great crock pot recipes. This soup sound wonderful, and I’ll be attempting it! I will also join your prayers for all those affected by the earthquake & subsequent tsunamis, both abroad and here at home. THANKS AMANDA!

     
  2. angelcakebaker35

    March 14, 2011 at 10:29 am

    Thank you and your welcome Mary! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
