RSS

Slow Cooker Corned Beef Brisket

14 Mar

Hello All,

Here is one of my favorite ways to cook corned beef brisket for St. Patrick’s Day.

Slow Cooker Corned Beef Brisket:

1 3-1/2 lb. corned beef brisket

1 large onion sliced

1/2 lb.  baby carrots

1 lb. small-medium red potatoes, if they are large ones cut them in half

1/2 small head of cabbage cut into chunks

I place all the vegetables in the bottom of my 4-quart crock pot. I wash off a lot of the brine with cold water to get rid of some the salt. In a large saute pan brown the brisket on both sides. Add a little water to the pan to get all the browned bits out of the pan, and add to slow cooker. Place the beef brisket on top of the veggies, and sprinkle the spice packet over the top. Pour about 1-inch of water into crock pot. Cook on high for 4-5 hours or on low 8-10 hours. I don’t add any extra spices or salt to this. The meat adds all the flavor you will need. If you wish you can use the juice left over to make a gravy. I don’t I just add pepper to my dish.. This is great with some Irish Soda bread!!

I’ll have several more recipes to post for St. Patrick’s Day so keep coming back!!! 🙂

Until later…

Amanda 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 14, 2011 in Meats, St. Patricks Day Menus

 

2 responses to “Slow Cooker Corned Beef Brisket

  1. mary

    March 15, 2011 at 5:19 am

    I never thought of cooking a corned beef & cabbage dinner in a crock pot. Although I have to work on the 17th, I will be using your recipe and will have my favorite Irish dish after all. Thanks Amanda!

     
  2. angelcakebaker35

    March 15, 2011 at 8:00 am

    Your welcome Mary! It’s my favorite way to make it! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
