RSS

Apple Fool

16 Mar

Hello everyone,

Here is a recipe I came up a long time ago. The orignal recipe called for beaten egg whites, but I don’t like eating raw eggs at all. So I switched it with some heavy cream. This recipe isn’t for anyone on a diet or someone with dairy allergies, so be carefull!! 🙂

1 lb. Granny Smith apples, peeled, cored, and sliced

zest and juice of 1 lemon

1/2 tsp. ground cinnamon

2 tbsp. unsweetened apple juice

1/3 cup superfine sugar

2 egg yolks

1/2 cup sour cream

1 cup heavy cream

green food coloring, optional

In a small saucepan, combine the apples, lemon zest, lemon juice, cinnamon, and apple juice. Cover and simmer until the apples are soft, about 10 minutes. Transfer to a blender or food processor and puree until smooth. Return to the saucepan and stir in the sugar. Add the egg yolks and stir over low heat for 5 minutes. Remove from the heat and let cool for 10 minutes. Stir in the sour cream and refrigerate for 1 hour. In a large mixing bowl*** beat the heavy cream until stiff peaks form. Fold into the cold apple puree. Fold in a few drops of green food coloring, if using… This is beautiful served in tall stem clear wine glasses. Garnish with apple slices or fresh mint.. So yummy!!! 🙂

Refrigerate your mixing bowl and whip before beating your whipped cream, your cream will get higher peaks and be more fluffy.

Oh boy, I am really busy this week!! So busy I haven’t been able to make it to my swim class, I know I’m being naughty!! LOL!! I’ll try to make it 5 days next week!!! (WINK WINK)!!!

I was sick Monday, so I didn’t do anything.. Tuesday I went to a ladies Bible study, which I very much enjoyed!! Today I am making 50 cupcakes, for my husband’s office for St. Patrick’s day. They are sour apple schnapps cupcakes with sour apple schnapps buttercream. I’ll post the recipe later… I am baking a peanut butter cheesecake for my U of I Food Safety class tomorrow. Plus I found a killer pesto sauce using lots of fresh herbs and pistachio nuts.. So yummy!! I’ll be cooking some pasta at class tomorrow and serve the pesto with it.. I will be baking a cake later tonight to deliver for Angel Cakes on Friday. It’s for twin baby boys graduating from the NICU. Also on Friday I am baking at Ronald McDonald House! Whew!! Can’t wait for the weekend!! 🙂

Well I better go and get back to baking!!

Later everyone!!

Amanda 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 16, 2011 in Dessert's

 

2 responses to “Apple Fool

  1. Medifast

    March 18, 2011 at 11:22 am

    Oh wow!, you are just a whirl-wind, I don’t know how you do it. But you are sure good at it.

     
  2. angelcakebaker35

    March 20, 2011 at 10:59 pm

    Thank you, I like to stay busy!! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
