RSS

Cucumber Crab Salad

26 Apr

Hello Everyone,

Here’s a recipe that my mom would make a lot. When I was about 7 or 8 years old,  my mom had a small deli, that served sub sandwiches, salads and she had a salad bar too. I don’t remember what else she served, I know either she has or I have the menu somewhere.. Wow  it was such a long time ago… I do remember how busy it always was and my brother and I would play outback after school while she and other ladies she hired would work to serve everyone coming in… She had some unusual sandwiches and salad combinations! They were tasty!! 🙂 This is one I remember well and really liked!

Cucumber Crab Salad:

2 med. cucumber chopped

2 cans crab, drained

1/2 cup white vinegar

1/4 cup granulated sugar

1/4 cup brown sugar

Lots of  salt and pepper to taste

Mix all together until just mixed together. I made this agian and I think my taste buds have changed, since I have been on the steroids.. I ended up adding 2 cukes and 2 cans of crabmeat and added alot of salt and pepper, so I updated the recipe. ( I use sea salt in all my recipes) I haven’t eaten this in along time, so sorry if anyone tried it and it turned out to0 be a flop.. I guess that will happen sometimes!!

I threw my back out yesterday after swimming. I have no idea what I did, must have turned wrong in the water. I was walking in the locker room like an 90-year-old women!! Hahaha!!! Must have been a site for all the other ladies in there! I saw one of my Drs yesterday also, she said my kidney function was down, she said it could be from the steroids. She also said my cholesterol was high! I asked what the number was and she said 220, so I asked what the bad cholesterol number was and she said it was 109. I did some research and that number is great. My total is just borderline high.. It’s all from the steroids she said, hopefully when they taper me off them, that number will go down. My iron is still low, and so is my white blood count, it’s all from the Sarcoid stuff.. She also said my inflammation number was down, I don’t remember the medical term she used, but that was good news!! It mean’s that hopefully the Sarcoid is going into remission!!! 🙂  Maybe the combo of the medication and exercise is helping!! The Dr did give me some muscle relaxers for my back, I am feeling better today.. Did some cleaning, Ray said don’t do too much!! I feel guilty not being able to clean as much as I used to.. The Cancer class I have been going to at the Y has been helping us all find a new kind of normal. I don’t know what normal is for me yet.. I used to work, be able to clean my house, and cook dinner all the same day. I can’t do that anymore, sometimes I’m lucky to get the laundry and dishes done in one day. I have to space thing’s out or I get so tired I’m down in bed for a couple of days.. Very frustrating for me!!

I know the ladies are working on getting the new cake charity name and website going, I have no idea what it is going to be called yet. I called the lady at the VA today to get the name of the vet I am baking a pie for on Friday, since the website is down I couldn’t get the name of the veteran. I told her it broke our hearts with what happened, she said for me to tell all the bakers that they are praying for us and that they are so grateful for all the cakes, pies, and cookies that the bakers make for them!

Well I better go for now, need to get ready for my class…

Until next time everyone!

Amanda 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 26, 2011 in Salads

 

Leave a Reply

 
