RSS

Mexican Salad

27 Apr

Hello everyone,

Here’s another one of my mom’s recipes from the deli, all but the cilantro that’s my addition! 🙂 I love mexican food, cilantro is one of my favorite spices.  I never had it fresh until we moved here. It gives such a crisp fresh flavor to dishes! 

Mexican Salad:

1 head iceberg lettuce, torn

1 large avocado, diced

5 med. tomatoes, diced

1 green pepper, diced

1 red pepper, diced

1 med. yellow onion, diced

1/2 bunch fresh cilantro chopped

4 slices bacon, cooked until crispy, save the drippings for the dressing

2 tsp. chili powder

1/4 tsp. salt

1/3 cup white vinegar

1 cup sharp shredded cheddar cheese

Line bowl with lettuce. Combine avocado, tomatoes, peppers, onion, cilantro and bacon. Combine chili powder, salt, and vinegar, and pour into bacon drippings. Pour dressing over vegetables, top with cheese and serve immediately.

Had a good day, didn’t hurt my back swimming , yeah!! We had to get Casper bathed and shaved today, we only get him done 2 times a year, that’s all he needs. We bath him in between times when he needs it.. The groomers are such nice people, I took Daisy to them, when she was alive.  They are the only place we have found that works so well with the dogs.. While he was getting groomed, I spent the afternoon at my grandparent’s house. They live close to the groomers, and they get their dog Oreo, (he’s a Shiztu) done there. They all seem to be doing fine today.. Had a good really visit with them…

Last night, I had another cancer class at the Y. It’s was on nutrition. Heard a lot of good information.. Some thing’s I already knew about from taking the U of I classes, some thing’s I agreed with and some thing’s I didn’t.. I’m not sure how many more classes I have there, 2-3 I think.. To be honest I’ll be glad when it’s over.. It’s been nice, but other than having cancer I don’t have anything in common with anyone there..

Well I better go for now everyone..

Until next time..

Amanda 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 27, 2011 in Salads

 

2 responses to “Mexican Salad

  1. Mary from Apron Strings & Wedding Rings

    May 1, 2011 at 6:36 am

    This sounds amazing Amanda – especially the cilantro addition :o)) – Mary

     
  2. angelcakebaker35

    May 1, 2011 at 8:17 am

    Thank you Mary! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
