RSS

Mansion Cookies

04 May

Hello Everyone,

Here is a recipe from http://cookingbymary.wordpress.com/. I made these for Ronald McDonald house last Friday and they are wonderful!! Thank you Mary!! 🙂

Makes 6 dozen cookies… Recipe can easily be halved

Ingredients:
01.    1 ½ c. (3 sticks) unsalted butter, softened
02.    1 ½ c. sugar
03.    1 ½ c. packed light brown sugar
04.    3 large eggs
05.    1 Tbsp. pure vanilla extract
06.    3 c. flour (I use King Arthur’s Unbleached All Purpose Flour)
07.    1 Tbsp. baking powder
08.    1 Tbsp. baking soda
09.    1 Tbsp. ground cinnamon
10.    1 tsp. salt
11.    3 c. old-fashioned rolled oats
12.    3 c. semi-sweet chocolate chips
13.    2 c. sweetened flaked coconut
14.    1 c. butterscotch chips
15.    1 c. chopped pecans

Directions:
* Preheat your oven to 350 degrees. Have ungreased cookie sheets ready.
* In a large mixing bowl, beat the 3 sticks of butter for 1 minute or until very creamy. Gradually beat booth sugars until well combined and then beat for 2 minutes. Add eggs beating for 1 minute after each addition. Beat in the vanilla.
* In a separate bowl, combine items 6-10 for the flour mixture. By hand, gradually stir into the butter mixture just until combined.
* Stir in the rolled oats. Then fold in the chips, coconut & pecans.
* Using a 2-tablespoon measure, drop dough onto cookie sheets spacing 2-inches apart.
* Bake for 15-18 minutes or until edges are lightly browned.
* Cool on cookie sheets on a wire rack for 2 minutes. Using a spatula remove the cookies from the sheets onto the racks and cool completely.
* Store in an airtight tin or container between sheets of waxed paper for up to 5 days

Tonight we took my grandparents, mom and step-dad, and my aunt out to dinner. It was a combo dinner from us to them all. For my grandparents, it was for their Anniversary, they have been married for 56 years! Wow!!! For my mom for mother’s day and my aunt’s birthday that we missed. I don’t like combining thing’s like this, but I have been too sick to do as much as I used to. They all understand that.. We went to a wonderful restaurant, that brings in as much of their food locally as they can and it’s very fresh!!

Ray and I have started buying these fruit and vegetable baskets from Bountiful Baskets Co-Op, and I absolutely love the quality and freshness of the baskets. I made chicken ratatouille,  egg fritatta and a strawberry sauce with just some of what we bought last Saturday. You never know what combination of fruits and vegetables you will get, it changes every week. For $15 you can get a lot of high quality produce! They sell bread, cookies and fresh herb packs as well, here’s the link to their website if you want to check them out, http://www.bountifulbaskets.org/

My back is still giving me fits, I am going in for an ex-ray. I am taking way too much pain medication and that’s not good… I was going to work some volunteer time with the U of I tomorrow, but I can’t go and I really wanted too. I guess the canning class has about 22 people this year. There has been a huge interest in canning and preserving. I think that is wonderful!! I grew up with my family canning and drying all of our fruits and produce, we had to, or we didn’t eat it!! I’ll need to do some canning with all the produce were getting from the baskets..

Well I better go, getting sleepy..

Goodnight all!!

Amanda 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 4, 2011 in Cookies

 

2 responses to “Mansion Cookies

  1. Mary from Apron Strings & Wedding Rings

    May 5, 2011 at 5:03 pm

    Hi Amanda! So very glad you made these for the Ronald McDonald House and that you liked these :o)) Hope you back feels better! – Mary L.

     
    • angelcakebaker35

      May 5, 2011 at 6:06 pm

      Hello Mary, Yes they loved them! They had a full house too, so I made the whole batch! Cookies go fast there! Thank you I’ll make those again there sometime! 🙂
      I’m having a back ex-ray tomorrow, I’m thinking I pinched a nerve swimming. I hope I can just go to PT to get it to feeling better..
      Thank you again Mary. And thank you for so much for your support! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
