RSS

Apple and Blueberry Pie

20 May

Hello Everyone,

I hope you all enjoy my new site! I have been working on it for the last couple of hours. I have a lot still to learn and add to it! I figured out how to add pictures!! Hopefully I’ll be adding pictures with the recipes soon! It’s a work in progress!! 🙂

I made this pie for Ronald McDonald last week. I was there again today and one of the people who is staying there asked me if I was making it again, I said no umm, I’m sorry! He said rats, I loved that pie!! It was great to hear that! Enjoy everyone!

Apple and Blueberry Pie:

Pastry for double crust (9-inch) pie pan

3 lbs. tart apples, I like to use gala, or rome

2 cups fresh blueberries, it’s important to use fresh ones, or your pie won’t set up properly

1/4 cup butter melted

1 tbsp. lemon juice

1 cup granulated sugar

3 tbsp. cornstarch or clear jel

1 tsp. cinnamon

1/8 tsp. nutmeg

For topping:

2 tbsp. heavy cream

2 tbsp coarse sugar

Divide dough in half so that one portion is slightly larger than the other; wrap each in plastic wrap. Refrigerate for 30 minutes or until easy to handle. On a lightly floured surface, roll out larger portion of dough to fit a 9-inch deep dish pie plate. In a large bowl, combine the apples, blueberries, butter and lemon juice. Combine the sugar, cornstarch or (clear jel), cinnamon and nutmeg; add to fruit mixture and toss to coat. Place in crust. Roll out remaining pastry to fit top of pie; place over filling. Trim, seal and flute edges. Brush top with heavy cream and sprinkle with sugar. Cut slits in the top for steam to escape. Bake at 375 degrees for 55-65 minutes or until golden brown and filling is bubbly. COver the edges with foil during the last 30 minutes to prevent overbrowning if necessary. Cool on wire rack before slicing.

Until next time everyone..

Amanda 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 20, 2011 in Dessert's, Pastry, Pie

 

2 responses to “Apple and Blueberry Pie

  1. Mary from Apron Strings & Wedding Rings

    May 21, 2011 at 10:28 am

    Amanda – Love the new design for your web site! Lot of work but it’s fun – isn’t it??? Have a wonderful rest of the weekend. Will be back later :o))

     
  2. angelcakebaker35

    May 21, 2011 at 12:21 pm

    Thank you Mary! Yes it’s been alot of work and I still have alot left to do. Still trying to figure it all out! LOL!! I’ll get there sometime!
    Thank you Mary!

    Amanda 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
