RSS

Lemon Blueberry Cake

28 May

Hello Everyone,

I have a had a busy week, had a lot going on… Friday I made an apple blueberry crisp and butterscotch brownies, for Ronald McDonald house.. I did some shopping and it was raining like crazy!! I hate being out in it, but didn’t have much choice. Ray for a couple of weeks, well all the time really, begs me to make stuff with bacon. I picked up some shrimp to make bacon wrapped shrimp and scallops for his scallop stew. Made Ray very happy tonight with his goodies!! I don’t often cook seafood or fish, because of the smell, but this wasn’t to bad… Today I made a spaghetti dinner for a family that was moving. I’m not sure how many people they had helping them. I fixed veggie spaghetti, salad, garlic/herb dinner rolls, a tomato/zucchini/green beans topped with a cheesy, crispy panko bread topping. I cut up 2 cantaloupes and made this lemon blueberry cake. We took everything to their new house, and got a tour of their house. This lemon blueberry cake is from my Betty Crocker booklet, and I changed it a little. I made it in a 9×13 cake pan instead of baking in round cake pans, so it would be easier for them to serve. I hope you enjoy it! 🙂

Lemon Blueberry Cake:

2-3/4 cups all-purpose flour

2-1/2 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

1-1/2 cups granulated sugar

3/4 cup unsalted butter, softened

3 large eggs

1-1/4 cups whole milk

1 tsp. vanilla

Glaze:

1 cup powdered sugar

1/3 cup lemon juice

For Frosting and Topping:

3 cups powdered sugar

1 cup unsalted butter, softened

1/8 tsp. popcorn salt

1/4 cup lemon juice, or more to taste

2 cups fresh blueberries

Grease and flour a 9×13 cake pan, and preheat oven to 350 degrees. Sift together the flour, baking powder, and salt; set aside. In a mixing bowl cream the sugar and butter together until fluffy, add eggs one at a time, beating well after each. Add in the flour mixture alternately with the milk, just until blended. Pour into prepared baking pan. Bake for 40-45 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean. Cool for 10 minutes. Combine the 1 cup powdered sugar and lemon juice. With a fork poke several holes in cake and pour lemon mixture over top. Let cake cool completely before frosting. Cream all frosting ingredient’s (expect blueberries) until creamy. Spread over cake, and top with blueberries.

Well until next time everyone..

Amanda 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 28, 2011 in Cakes

 

2 responses to “Lemon Blueberry Cake

  1. Mary from Apron Strings & Wedding Rings

    May 30, 2011 at 5:08 am

    You’ve been busy! This lemon & blueberry cake sounds fantastic Amanda! HAPPY MEMORIAL DAY :o)) – Mary

     
  2. cakebaker35

    May 30, 2011 at 8:06 am

    Thank you Mary! Yea my husband says do to much sometimes, but I love it anyways!!
    HAPPY MEMORIL DAY!! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
