RSS

Creamy Scallop Chowder

31 May

Hello Everyone,

A couple of weeks ago my husband begged me to make this. I kept putting off, not because I didn’t want to make it for him, it’s just as I have said before I hate the smell of cooking seafood. I have no idea why I just do… Here it is for you to try, he loved and ate most of it! 🙂

Creamy Scallop Chowder:

1 lb. scallops, rinsed and drained

2 tbsp. unsalted butter

1 bunch green onions, chopped

2 cloves garlic, minced

4 oz. fresh sliced mushrooms

2 tbsp. all-purpose flour

1 cup milk

1/2 cup dry white wine

1 tsp. salt

1 pinch of pepper, or to taste

1 cup shredded swiss cheese

2 tbsp. fresh parsley, chopped

Wash and drain scallops. If scallops are large, cut in half. In a medium size saucepan, melt butter over medium-low heat. Saute onions and mushrooms until tender; add in garlic. Stir in flour. Pour in milk and stir over medium heat until thickened and bubbly. Add in wine, scallops, salt, pepper, cheese, and parsley. Cook over medium heat until thickened. Serve immediately.

I met another lady with Sarcoidosis today. She is the only other person I have met with this. It was nice to talk to her, she has a lot more problems with it than I do. Hopefully I’ll get to see her again at the Y and have a chance to chat.

Until next time everyone!!

Amanda 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 31, 2011 in Soups

 

2 responses to “Creamy Scallop Chowder

  1. Mary from Apron Strings & Wedding Rings

    June 1, 2011 at 5:33 am

    I’m going to make this Friday night for my Tim AND ME! We both love scallops and everything in this sounds like heaven. Will let you know how it turns out! – Mary

     
  2. cakebaker35

    June 1, 2011 at 12:07 pm

    Thank you Mary! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
