RSS

Greek Food Festival

04 Jun

Hello Everyone,

Ray and I had a great time today at the Boise Greek Food Festival! My mom and step-dad came with us to! They have been having the festival for 30 years, and it was packed today! Ray had the Souvlaki, which is marinated pork on a skewer and served with a Greek rice pilafi. I had the Lamb kabob dinner. It came with the rice piliafi and what was called fasolia, which were green beans cooked in a tomato sauce. I love the green beans, I need to find a recipe for that! 🙂 We shared a Greek garden salad and something we both love to eat, Spanikopita! Spinach pie triangles with feta cheese. My mom had the vegetarian Gyros. It’s a pita with lettuce, tomato, red onion and tsatizki, it’s a yogurt cucumber sauce. Bill had the meat Gyros and it’s served with the same vegetables and sauce. They ate them all up! Mom and Bill decided to tour the church, I was getting tired so we decided to go. We did get to watch the Greek dancers and they were fantastic! Ray and I decided to visit the pastry shop and we chose a variety of items. One is my favorite Baklava, and we chose Galatobouriko, a Greek custard baked in phyllo dough. Kataifi, almonds and walnuts stuffed in shredded wheat. Kourabiethes, butter cookies in powdered sugar, and Koulourakia a Greek butter cookie. If you want to read more about the Greek Festival here is the link  http://www.boisegreekfestival.com/Home_Page.html

Well that’s all I have for tonight everyone, I’m very tired so off to sleep I go!! 

Amanda 🙂 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 4, 2011 in Restaurant Reviews

 

Leave a Reply

 
