RSS

Portobello Eggs Benedict

12 Jun

Hello Everyone,

I made this up for breakfast the other day after seeing a version of it in a cookbook. I was dying to try it. I love eggs benedict. I even have an egg poacher I bought at Bed Bath and Beyond a couple of years ago. I hate trying to make poached eggs in the water bath method, my little 4 egg poacher is so much easier!! 🙂  This is lower carb and calorie version of the traditional eggs benedict. I love it I know you will to!                           

Portobello Eggs Benedict:

2 portobello mushrooms, wiped clean and gently scrape the dark inside out

4 poached eggs

1/2 cup thinly sliced prosciutto ham

1/4 cup shredded white cheddar cheese

purchased pesto sauce

Cook portobello mushrooms in a non-stick pan sprayed with cooking spray on medium heat, until tender; about 10 minutes. Poach your eggs or you can cook them any style you like.

To assemble: Place one portobello mushroom cap on plate top with eggs, prosciutto ham, cheese, and drizzle with a tablespoon of pesto sauce. Serve with toast and fruit. Enjoy!

Been a weird and long week for me. I had to have surgery on my big toes on Tuesday, so I have been hobbling around the house all week. I didn’t make it to Ronald McDonald house on Friday, I was really looking forward to going to.. I am afraid to drive very far with my feet feeling like this. Hopefully in a couple of weeks I can head back there! 🙂 

Well better go for now, I’m canning apricot pie filling today. I made apricot jam yesterday. We bought a big box of apricots from Bountiful Baskets and they are really good! Whatever is leftover from canning I am putting them in my food dehydrator. I dried a bunch of apples a couple of weeks ago and I must say they are better than anything I have bought in the store so far!

Until next time!

Amanda 🙂

 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 12, 2011 in Breakfast

 

4 responses to “Portobello Eggs Benedict

  1. Mary from Apron Strings & Wedding Rings

    June 12, 2011 at 10:03 am

    Sounds wonderful Amanda! I never make poached eggs without my silicone poacher either :o)) – Mary L.

     
  2. cakebaker35

    June 12, 2011 at 10:07 am

    Thank you Mary! Yeah I have never been able to get the eggs to look right in the water bath methed! Ilove my little egg poacher from BBB!! 🙂

     
  3. Mary from Apron Strings & Wedding Rings

    June 12, 2011 at 11:10 am

    Amanda, I left out the cream cheese & milk out of my ingredients for the puff pastry dessert. Fixed it! Sorry about that! – Mary L.

     
    • cakebaker35

      June 12, 2011 at 1:06 pm

      Oh that’s ok! I have done that many times!! I’ll take another look then! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
