RSS

May Food Network Magazine Recipe Reviews

16 Jun

Hello Everyone,

I’m sorry for posting this so late, I have had to many others thing’s I wanted to post about and before I knew it time flew out of my hands!! lol!!

The first recipe we tried is on page 48, the “Maple-Pecan Scones”. I didn’t like these at all. The orange zest overpowers all the other flavors, this recipe needs some work… Next recipe is on page 71, the “French Fry Deluxe Salad. The recipe calls for frozen pre-made french fries, but I didn’t want to buy them. I wanted to make my own. I have a curly french fry maker, and it turned out great! the next recipe is on page, 74 the “Escarole Salad With Anchovy Dressing, and I loved this one! The only change I made was the lettuce, I used romaine instead. I couldn’t find any escarole. The next recipe is on page 78 and 79 its the “He made She Made” contest. Adam Gertlers “Kids Candy Store Cookies” and  Sunny Anderson’s “Nutty White Chocolate Oatmeal and Peach Cookies”. I baked these for Ronald McDonald house, I like Sunny’s better, I guess it’s because I love white chocolate and any cookie made with oatmeal! I had a hard time finding the pretzel m and m’s for Adam’s cookies and they were expensive! I had to substitute dried apricots for the peaches in Sunny’s recipe, I couldn’t find dried peaches at all. What a bummer that was.. Oh well maybe next time!! 🙂 The next recipe is on page 80 the “Almost Famous Cheesecake Pancakes” and these were so yummy! I will be making these again!!! The next recipe is on page 82, Aarti Sequeira’s “Shrikhand and Pooris” I didn’t bother to follow the first step in putting the yogurt in cheesecloth and leaving it overnight. The Greek yogurt I buy is so thick already I felt I didn’t need that extra step. I did buy the saffron, I had a coupon for World Market and bought it along with a few other things I wanted to try. The Shrikhand is really good, I ate it by itself and with granola, it’s very good! The Pooris on the other hand was heavy lead balls of dough, ick…. I think my flour was to heavy for the recipe. I am going to try it again since it’s really easy to make. I am going to add half white flour and half sifted whole wheat flour and a little sugar, and see if that lightens them up a bit.. The next recipe is on page 104 the “Tilapia Marsala with Rice”, this was ok, not stellar… The next recipe is on page 147 the “Chilies Rellenos”, I loved these, I don’t think Ray liked them as much as I did. It’s a really easy recipe to make, but it does have a lot of steps. The last recipe is on page 164 and I think there is a typo in this recipe. It calles for a 8-inch square baking pan, but it was way to full for brownies. I had to bake it longer than the recipe said and ended up with hard dry edges and s gooey center. I have other brownie recipe that are so much better than this one. Next time I make my own tried and true brownie recipe and add the toppings to it instead..

Well that’s all I have for today everyone…

Amanda 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

 
