RSS

Lemon Cake with Lemon Frosting

25 Jun

Hello everyone,

Here is a super easy recipe that anyone can make. It’s kinda a long story on how this recipe came to be. I have seen this recipe posted several times on the Wilton Discussion Forum. It’s orignal name is called White Almond Sour Cream Cake, but a lot of cakers on the forum just call it WASC. It starts with a cake mix and has added ingredients to it, not only make it more moist but to extend the batter amount. It makes Two 9” rounds and one 6 inch round or two 6” rounds and 6-8 cupcakes. It doesn’t rise as much as a cake mix does and stays flat, so it’s much easier to layer and fill without cutting of rounded tops. The frosting recipe is from a lady named Bunnywomen on the forum, I’m sorry I do not know her real name, I don’t think she would want me to post it here anyway. I made a lemon version of her recipe today and it is really good. I am making all this for my niece’s 13 Birthday. Her favorite flavor is lemon, so her cake is all lemon baby!! LOL!! 🙂  Tomorrow, Ray and I are taking her out for her Birthday, I won’t have her cake done sadly…. I’ll have to get it done on Monday and take it to her mom’s house. I couldn’t get to the store until late today to get the rest of the stuff I needed to finish her cake. I am making my first topsy-turvy cake and her colors are turquoise and black, both colors are not easy to make. I ended up buying Duff Goldman’s black fondant, and it’s really good! I have to make the turquoise color using two different colors. I bought some wires and things to hang on the cake. I hope it turns out the way I see it in my head anyway…I really wanted to make Jacquelyn a cake this year, after all your only 13 once… We are taking her out for Sushi and a movie, Pirates of the Caribbean 4, should be good, any thing with Johnny Depp is good in my book!! HA!! Anyways enough of my babbling here are the recipes, enjoy!! 🙂

1 Duncin Hines lemon cake mix, only use Duncin Hines for this recipe any other cake mix will make the cake sink really bad. Trust me, I have had this happen when I first tried this recipe

1 cup all-purpose flour

1 cup granulated sugar

3/4 tsp salt 

1 cup water

1/3 cup lemon juice

2 tbsp vegetable oil
 
1 cup sour cream 

4 large egg whites

Place all dry ingredients in a large mixing bowl and stir together with a wire whisk. Add the remaining ingredients and beat on a low-speed for 2 minutes. Bake at 325 degrees until cake tests done.

Lemon Buttercream

3 sticks unsalted butter, softened

1-1/2 cups Crisco

1 tsp. popcorn salt

1/3 cup lemon juice

1/3 cup extra rich powdered dairy creamer

 6-8 cups powdered sugar, depends on how stiff you want it

Mix all ingredient’s together until smooth. Spread on cooled cake layers. Makes a lot of frosting.

Until next time everyone, goodnight!! YAWN!!! Need some sleep!

Amanda 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 25, 2011 in Cakes

 

2 responses to “Lemon Cake with Lemon Frosting

  1. Mary from Apron Strings & Wedding Rings

    June 27, 2011 at 10:02 am

    Sounds refreshing with the lemon and a divine topping Amanda!

     
  2. cakebaker35

    June 27, 2011 at 1:25 pm

    Thank you Mary! 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
