RSS

Chocolate Coconut Candy Bar Cake

30 Jun

Hello everyone,

This is another cake from my Soft as Silk cake book, its by Eugenia Adams from Taylor, MI. I tried this one a long time ago and it’s really good and a bit different… Hope you enjoy it as much as we did!!

Chocolate Coconut Candy Bar Cake:

To Make Candy Bars:

2-2/3 cups flaked sweetened coconut

1-2/3 cups powdered sugar

1/4 cup unsalted butter, softened

2 tbsp. hot water

1 tsp. vanilla extract

Mix all ingredient’s together in a medium bowl with a spoon, and divide evenly into 16 pieces. Shape each piece into a bar, about 1-1/2 inches long. (Mixture will be sticky; butter hands if desired.) Place on wax paper and place in the refrigerator to firm up, and ready to use.

Cream Filling:

1 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened

1/2 cup Crisco

2/3 cup evaporated milk

2 tsp. vanilla

Beat all ingredient’s in medium bowl on medium speed until smooth; cover and set aside until ready to use.

Chocolate Frosting:

4 cups powdered sugar

1/3 cup unsalted butter, melted and cooled

1/2 cup baking cocoa powder

1 tsp. vanilla

1/3 cup hot water

Mix all ingredient’s except water in medium bowl with spoon. Stir in 1/3 cup water until blended; add additional water 1 tbsp. at a time until spreadable.

To Make Cake:

3 large whites

1/2 tsp. cream of tartar

2 cups granulated sugar

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened

1/2 cup Crisco

3 large egg yolks

1 tsp. vanilla

1 tsp. coconut

1 cup buttermilk

1 tsp. baking soda

2-1/4 cups Soft as Silk cake flour or 2 cups (sifted before measuring) all-purpose flour

1 cup chopped and toasted almonds

1 cup flaked coconut

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour 3 round 9-inch cake pans, and place in the refrigerator. Beat egg whites and cream of tartar in medium bowl with electric mixer on high-speed until stiff peaks form; set aside.

Beet sugar, butter, and Crisco in a medium bowl on medium speed, scraping bowl occasionally, until fluffy. Beat in egg yolks, one at a time, beating after each addition until blended. Beat in vanilla and coconut extract. Mix buttermilk and baking soda in a small bowl until baking soda is dissolved. Beat in flour alternately with buttermilk mixture into sugar mixture, beating after each addition until smooth. Stir in almonds and coconut. Fold in egg whites. Pour into prepared baking pans. Bake for 25-30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted in the center come out clean. Cool in pans for 10 minutes; remove from pans to cool completely. Fill layers with cream filling. Arrange candy bars evenly around the edge of cake; cover and freeze for at least 2 hours. Spoon chocolate frosting by tablespoons over candy bars just until bars are covered. Store covered in the refrigerator.

So I turned 36 today… I don’t like my Birthday’s.. I never have and I don’t know why.. Ray, my mom, step-dad, and my grandparent’s all wanted to take me out tonight but I said no, I just want to stay home. My grandpa was so sweet and called me and sang Happy Birthday to me, sniff, made me cry.. 🙂 They are having a small party for me on Sunday, and to me that’s enough.. I am making 3 different sliders for my Birthday tonight, turkey, pork and salmon. They are all from the FN magazine, I’ll let you know later how they turned out!

I’m sorry I haven’t been very good about blogging this month, my foot surgery’s have kept me down a lot. I have my last one on Tuesday, and I hope they get better before the fair starts. I need to work on my fair display in the next couple of weeks. Yikes! It’s coming up so fast!!

I forgot to mention I baked 2 cakes for the VA home last week. I am really happy with how they turned out! 🙂 One was for a vet that liked art, I made him a painters palate shaped cake, and molded a paint brush and a tube of paint out of fondant. The other cake was for a vet that liked fishing, and I just piped a fish and a boat into a sheet cake. I hope I can get Ray to post the pictures for me, so those of you on my FB page can see them this weekend..

Sadly I never did make the cake for my niece, not yet anyway. We did take her out Sunday, but ended up going to a Hot Wings place instead of a sushi place. The movie time were wrong in the newspaper so we ended up going to my grandmother’s house to kill some time before the movie. It was nice to visit wither her, I don’t think Jacquelyn had seen her in a while.. We’ll see if I get her cake done, I might wait until I get some DVD’s I ordered. I bought some Sharon Zambito instructional DVD’s on how to make a Topsy-Turvy cake. I also bought some on how to make purse cakes. I am really excited to see these DVD’s and learn all I can from them. With my dyslexia this a really great way for me to learn, I learn by watching other people.

Well I better go for now, I need to finish a cake for a nursing home resident’s Birthday tomorrow. It’s just going to be a simple 9-inch round cake. Not sure how fancy I will make it… I’ll have to see if I can get some inspiration! LOL!!

Until next time…

Amanda 🙂

 
2 Comments

Posted by on June 30, 2011 in Cakes

 

2 responses to “Chocolate Coconut Candy Bar Cake

  1. Mary from Apron Strings & Wedding Rings

    July 1, 2011 at 4:45 am

    Oh My… Sounds delicious! Thanks for the recipe Amanda.
    Happy Holiday Weekend! – Mary L.
    http://cookingbymary.wordpress.com/

     
    • cakebaker35

      July 1, 2011 at 4:41 pm

      Thank you Mary! You have a great weekend to!! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
