RSS

Mango Raspberry Jam

07 Jul

Hello Everyone,

Here is a recipe from my Ball Blue Book of Home Preserving. I have been trying to find recipes for just mango jam, but this was the only recipe I could find. It takes about 2 weeks to set up, so don’t plan on eating it right away, unless your like me and just can’t wait! LOL! It is really good! 🙂

Mango Raspberry Jam:

3 cups chopped, pitted, peeled mangos

1-1/2 cups crushed red raspberries

2 tbsp. bottled lemon juice

1 package regular powdered fruit pectin, 1.75 ounces

5-1/2 cups granulated sugar

1/2 tsp. unsalted butter

Wash 7, 8-ounce half-pint jars and place in boiling water canner on rack. Fill canner about halfway with warm tap water and put burner on medium-high heat. Place jar lids in a small saucepan filled with water and bring to low boil. In a large stainless steel cooking pot, place fruit, lemon juice and pectin in pot; bring to rolling boil. A rolling boil is a boil you can’t stir down, make sure you use a long-handled wooden spoon, as fruit can spatter and burn. Once fruit mixture boils, immediately add all of the sugar, stirring constantly, until mixture reaches a rolling boil again. Stirring constantly for 1 minute, remove from heat. Add in the butter, ( the butter helps to reduce the foam). Skim foam if any. Ladle hot fruit into hot jars leaving 1/4-inch headspace, wipe rims with a clean damp towel, place lid on and screw band on fingertip tight. Place jar back in boiling water canner. Repeat until all the jars are filled or until all of jam mixture is gone. Cover jars with at least 1-inch of hot tap water. Bring a full boil over high heat. Now if this is your first time canning please read through the USDA guidelines for canning. Processing times are different at different altitudes. http://www.uga.edu/nchfp/questions/FAQ_canning.html

We had a quite 4th of July. We were going to go to my aunt’s house, but some thing’s happened and we ended up staying home…I also was sick and was supposed to get e cake delivered to a nursing home on the 4th, but I couldn’t get it done. I had to call the President of Community Cakes and let her know. I feel really bad about not being able to get the cake done, but there was nothing I could do…

I don’t have any cakes for July, I decided with the fair I would be busy. Plus I am still recovering from foot surgery and we are looking at moving to a different house. We really need to move out of this old house, way out in the boonies! LOL! We need to be closer to town so Ray doesn’t have to drive so far and I don’t have so far to drive top my Dr. appts.

Well I better go for now…

Until next time…

Amanda 🙂

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 7, 2011 in Canned Foods

 

4 responses to “Mango Raspberry Jam

  1. Mary from Apron Strings & Wedding Rings

    July 8, 2011 at 8:30 am

    What a great jam to make Amanda! Hope you are better now :o)) – Mary L.

     
  2. Kristina Vanni

    July 11, 2011 at 4:00 pm

    Fantastic recipe! I love canning as well, thanks for posting!

     
    • cakebaker35

      July 11, 2011 at 8:45 pm

      Thank you Kristina! I love canning too! Canning some applesauce today! Yumm!!!

       

Leave a Reply

 
