RSS

Just me today….

20 Jul

Hello everyone,

I have some good news and some a little sad news today.. If you don’t want to read sad news and some family drama please don’t read this… I had a good visit with my Dr yesterday. My sed rate is 15 for the Sarcoidosis. If you’re not familiar with what a sed rate is here is a definition of what it is:

Erythrocytes sedimentation rate (ESR), Westergren method,(Sed Rate) is blood test measures how quickly red blood cells (erythrocytes) settle in a test tube. The more red cells that fall to the bottom of a special test tube in one hour, the higher the sed rate.
When inflammation is present in the body, certain proteins cause red blood cells to stick together and fall more quickly than normal to the bottom of the tube. These proteins are produced by the liver and the immune system under many abnormal conditions, such as an infection, an autoimmune disease, and cancer. There are many possible causes of an elevated sedimentation rate. For this reason, a sed rate blood test is done with other tests to confirm a diagnosis. Once a sed rate blood test is conducted, the course of the disease or the effectiveness of treatment can be monitored.
The normal sedimentation rate (Westergren method) for males is 0-15 millimeters per hour, and for females is 0-20 millimeters per hour. The sedimentation rate can be slightly more elevated in the elderly and is much lower for children.

What my number 15 means is that the methotrexate I am taking is working and I can safely lower and go off steroids. I will be so happy to be off steroids, the side effects are nasty. From big time emotional problems, to bone pain and possible breaking of bones, muscle pain, vision problems, skin rashes, pimples, and the list goes on… Hopefully someday the Sarcoidosis will go into remission! I would love that and I wouldn’t have to take any pills!! 🙂

The kinda sad news is that my brother got married today and my husband and were not invited to the wedding. We are not getting along still… Here’s some history for you, so maybe you will all understand why this is happening. Several years ago he got divorced from the mother of his children, my 2 niece’s and 1 nephew. I won’t say why they divorced, but it hurt all of us. Mostly hurt his kids more than anyone.. I was really angry with his ex-wife for a long time and wouldn’t speak to her, mostly out of respect for my brother. One day in church our pastor was talking about forgiveness and inviting someone to church that we didn’t get along with. That really spoke to me, about how I really needed to forgive her. My husband and I talked it over and we both decided to invite her and the kids to church, she had the kids on Sunday’s, (it was a work related custody thing I guess).. When she came to church with us and the kids it really made my brother mad. So I think to get revenge on me he accepted a friend request on FB from the man who raped me almost 12 years ago… That hurt me in more ways than words can describe.. We were not trying to hurt his feelings, we just wanted the kids and their mother to come to church, was that so bad??? We also wanted to invite them so we could see them, (my brother will not let us see the kids when he has them) it’s his way of revenge I guess, and it’s sad. All this does is hurt those precious children.. I have been so sick these past 3 years that I can’t handle all three of them at once… That’s also why we starting taking them out one at a time on their Birthday’s.. I know some of my family may be upset with me for writing about this, but right now I’m past caring on what they think of me… My husband says he hates to see me sad about this, but I admit my feelings are hurt.. We went out of our way to help him when he divorced and this is how we are treated??? You know what they say? You can’t pick your family but you can pick your friends.. I love all my friends and a few family members that have been so supportive of me during my illness. When your sick your real friends and family stick with you, and through all this I know who they are…I love my husband very much! He has had to put of with alot of crap, not only from me but some others, I won’t say who..

Well I better go for now, too much sadness today….

Amanda

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
