RSS

Strawberry Jam

22 Jul

Hello Everyone,

One of my favorites jams to make is strawberry! Nothing beats a fresh batch of strawberry jam! When I was a kid my mom would make it and she would let us lick the leftovers in the pan, left over from jam making. I have to admit that was one of my favorite tasks when it came to canning season! 🙂 Also fresh jam is wonderful on homemade toasted bread, spread with a little fresh butter then slather on the fresh strawberry jam! That’s about as close to heaven as you can get, right here on earth, just my humble thoughts on the subject!! 🙂

Strawberry Jam:

3 quarts fresh strawberries, hulled

1 box 1-3/4oz. packaged powdered fruit pectin

2 tbsp. bottled lemon juice

7 cups granulated sugar, I use C&H pure cane sugar

1/2 tsp. unsalted butter

Place one cup of berries in an 8-quart heavy saucepan. Crush berries, a potato masher works really well for this. Continue adding berries and crushing until you have 5 cups crushed berries. Stir in pectin, and lemon juice, stirring constantly on high heat, until mixture comes to a full rolling boil. A rolling boil is a boil that can’t be stirred down. Add full amount of sugar, and bring to a full rolling boil again; stirring constantly and boil for 1 minute. Remove pot from heat and stir in the butter. Ladle into hot sterilized, half-pint or pint canning jars, leaving 1/4-inch headspace. Wipe rims clean and place sterilized 2 piece canning lids on fingertip tight. Process in boiling water canner, and adjust boiling time to your altitude.*** Place in boiling water canner and cover with warm tap water. Start timing when water in canner comes to a full boil, on high heat. When time is done, turn off heat and let jars sit in canner for 5 mor minutes. Using a jar lifter bring jars out of water, do not tip-off water on jar lid. That can ruin your seal on the jar. Let sit on a towel untouched for 24 hours. Makes about 7 half-pints or 3-4 four pints.

If this is your first time canning please read through the USDA guidelines for canning…

http://www.uga.edu/nchfp/questions/FAQ_canning.html

I hope this will encourage you to try making your own jams and jellies! I love making them, even through its a lot of work! Nothing beats a your own fresh jams and jellies filling your pantry! They make great gifts too!! 🙂

Amanda 🙂

 
4 Comments

Posted by on July 22, 2011 in Canned Foods

 

4 responses to “Strawberry Jam

  1. sally

    July 22, 2011 at 4:09 pm

    Thank you for such an informative post on making strawberry jam. I really feel I could just follow your instructions and do it even tho I have never canned anything before. Now, all I have to do is find some really good, RIPE strawberries. I live in S. Florida and all they have in the stores are huge, unripe, tasteless berries. I remember how good the small, wild strawberries were back north!!

     
    • cakebaker35

      July 22, 2011 at 7:06 pm

      Thank you for visiting my blog! And thank you for your comments! Let me know how your jam turns out! 🙂

       
  2. mary1958

    July 24, 2011 at 10:25 am

    Amanda this sounds so easy. I LOVE strawberry jam! – Mary L.

     
    • cakebaker35

      July 24, 2011 at 6:38 pm

      Thank you Mary! It’s one of my favorites to make! 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
