RSS

Caramel Apple Spice Cake

06 Aug

Hello Everyone,

Here is a cake I made for my grandparent’s 50th Anniversary a couple of years ago. They loved it! 🙂 I also made a 5-tier lemon cake with yellow roses and a water fountain under the cake. There’s a funny story that goes with making their Anniversary cake. I had made about 100 golden-yellow Royal icing roses, and I put them on cookie sheets to dry. The party was in our hometown about a 6 hour drive from where we live. Ray and I packed everything up, or so I thought we did.. About 3-1/2 hours into the trip, I was dozing in the front seat and all of a sudden, I sat up and shouted OH NO!!! I scared the crap out of my husband and he says WHAT, WHAT, WHAT??? I forgot the roses at home!!!! ACK!!! What was I going to do??? When we got to my aunt’s house, I called my mom who hadn’t left town yet to get a few items so I could make more roses. The town where the party was is really small, and they do not have cake decorating tools let alone the color I wanted… My mom saved the day and brought all items that I needed and it turned out great in the end.. Here’s a picture of the cake..

Caramel Apple Spice Cake:

For the cake:

2 1/ cups all-purpose flour

1 1/2 cups packed light brown sugar

1 cup sour cream

 1/4 cup unsalted butter, softened

1/4 cup shortening

1/4 cup water

2 tsp. ground cinnamon

1 1/4 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. baking powder

3/4 tsp. ground cloves

1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg

2 large eggs

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour 2, 8 or 9-inch round cake pans. In a large mixing bowl, beat all ingredient’s together with an electric mixer on low-speed 30 seconds, scraping bowl constantly. Beat on high-speed 3 minutes, scraping bowl occasionally. Pur into pans. Bake for 30-35 minutes, or until cake tester inserted into center come out clean. 

Apple Filling:

3 1/2 cups sliced apples, cooked in a little water just until soft, drain and pat dry

3/4 cup + 2 tbsp. sugar

1/4 cup Clear Jel, can be found at specialty food markets or online..

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1/8 tsp. nutmeg

1-1/4 cups unsweetened apple juice

1 drop yellow food coloring, optional

2 tbsp. lemon juice

In a medium saucepan combine the sugar, clear gel, and spices. Add in apple juice, lemon juice and food coloring, and cook on medium heat until thick. Fold in apples, and cool completely.

Caramel Frosting:

1/2 cup unsalted butter

1 cup packed light brown sugar

1/4 cup whole milk

2 cups or more powdered sugar

In a 2-quart saucepan, melt butter over medium heat. Stir in brown sugar. Heat to boiling, stirring constantly; reduce heat to low. Boil and stir 2 minutes. Stir in milk. Heat to boiling; remove from heat. Cool to lukewarm, about 30 minutes. Gradually stir in powdered sugar. Place saucepan of frosting in bowl of cold water. Beat with a spoon until smooth and spreadable. If frosting becomes too stiff, stir in additional milk, 1 tsp. at a time, or heat over low heat, stirring constantly.

To assemble cake:

Place one cake layer on plate, and spread with about half of apple filling. Top with second layer. (If you feel the cake needs to be more stable, you can insert a couple of plastic drinking straws in the center of cake, this keeps the cake layers from shifting). Spread top and sides of cake with caramel frosting, and spread remaining apple filling on the top of frosting. (Just on the top for garnish).

My grandparent’s loved this cake! I know you will too!!

Until next time…

Amanda 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 6, 2011 in Cakes

 

Comments are closed.

 
