RSS

Western Idaho Fair Week

27 Aug

Hello Everyone,

I’m sorry everyone, I have been bad this week with not posting! 🙂 Seems like the week just flew by so fast! I had 2 contest’s at the Western Idaho Fair this week. Thursday was the Fleischmann’s Yeast contest. They have 2 categories, and it’s been called “Bake For The Cure for Breast Cancer” for several years, and they encourage decorative themes ect.. The 1st class was for “Any Style of Bread” and the 2nd class was “Whole Grains”. I have had a hard time with this contest through the years. I can’t seem to get it right, I placed a dismal 9th this year in the 1st class!! Last year I placed 2nd, and that’s the only time I have placed in the 8 years I have been participating in this contest. I just need to work harder! This year I made Cherry Rolls and Whole Wheat Cinnamon Raisin bread. They said the cherry brandy was to strong in the cherry rolls. I didn’t know you could have too much brandy in something!! lol!!! I’ll work on the recipe and enter it next year! On the other hand they said they loved my Whole Wheat Cinnamon Raisin bread! I places 4th in that class and only the first 2 get any prize money, in the whole grains category. I’ll try again next year and see what happens! Friday they had the first of what was called a “Sorrento Presents Cheezaplaooza”. They had 2 categories, 1st was called “Cheesy Couture”, and anything savory could be entered in this class. I made a cheeseball and crackers made with cheese and I don’t know how it placed, I never got a chance to ask them. I know it didn’t do very well, they had 7 entries and only the first 4 get prize money, which I thought was great! The prize money was 1st $100, 2nd $75, 3rd $50 and 4th $25. The second category was called ” The Cheese Stands Alone” the sweet side of cheese. They had at least 12 entries in this class. I am so happy that I placed 2nd!! I made a Caramel Pecan Cheesecake, and it was made with all ricotta cheese. Since the sponsor didn’t make cream cheese we had to substitute their products and ricotta cheese was just one of them, here is their website if you want to take a look, plus they will have posted all the recipes from the contest, even the non-winning recipes! http://www.sorrentocheese.com/cheese/  The recipes from the fair are not posted yet, they said to give them a few days to get them posted..

I entered 24 entries in the Culinary department and placed with 12 of them! To even place at the state fair is great, because you will see a lot of entries that do not place which is kinda sad for the ones that don’t get anything..Here’s what placed for me this year, apricot rolls 1st and the Idaho Wheat Growers Award! Apricot drop cookies 3rd, apricot fill cookies 2nd, apricot pie 2nd, apricot candy 3rd, canned applesauce 3rd, apricot pie filling 1st, strawberry jam 2nd, grape jelly 2nd, salsa 1st and a Best In Show!! I was awarded 2 extra blue ribbons for division 5, division 5 in the special awards division. I know it’s funny I had a lot of apricot items entered this year. One of the workers that was helping me put tags on my entries exclaimed “you must love apricots with all these apricots entries”! I just laughed and said yes I do, plus it was what I had, so I used them up!! 🙂 Well I better be off, I have peppers and corn to work with today. It’s cloudy out so veggie soup is on the menu tonight! Need to get into kitchen and cook!! 🙂

Until next time…

Amanda 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 27, 2011 in My Thoughts

 

Comments are closed.

 
