RSS

Pepper Jelly

05 Sep

Hello Everyone,

 A couple of weeks ago we bought a 35lb gunny sack of New Mexico Hatch Chili peppers. When I first saw the sack I about panicked. What am I going to do with all these peppers!!! I didn’t have much time to think about it because they needed to be used or I would lose them. Some went into salsa some went into this pepper jelly, the rest went into my food dehydrator. I ended up with 3 gallon size bags of dried peppers! Now I just need to find recipes to use them! I’m sure I’ll come up with a bunch a yummy recipes to use them in! 🙂

I love this jelly, it’s one of my favorites!

Pepper Jelly:

12oz. peppers, stemmed, seeded and deveined

2 cups cider vinegar, divided

6 cups granulated sugar

2 pouches (3oz. each) liquid pectin

1/2 tsp. unsalted butter

Green food coloring, optional

In a blender or a food processor fitted with a metal blade, puree peppers and 1 cup of vinegar until smooth. In a large, deep stainless steel saucepan, combine pepper puree, remaining 1 cup vinegar and sugar. Bring to a boil, stirring constantly, for 10 minutes. Stir in pectin. Boil hard, stirring constantly, for 1 minute. Remove from heat, stir in butter and food coloring. Skim foam, if any. Pour hot jelly onto hot jars leaving 1/4-inch headspace. Wipe rim. Center lid on jar. Screw band until fingertip tight. Makes about 5 half pint jars. For processing times please refer to the USDA canning guidelines link on the right hand-side of my blog.

My favorite way to serve this jelly is to, pour it over a brick of softened cream cheese and heat in the microwave for about 30 sec. Serve with toasted bread or crackers.

Until next time..

Amanda 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 5, 2011 in Canned Foods

 

Comments are closed.

 
