RSS

Spicy Zucchini Bread

07 Sep

Hello Everyone,

Oh zucchini how I love thee!! LOL!! I really do love zucchini! It’s one of the most underrated and sometimes hated vegetable around. Probably because it can grow like crazy and most people don’t really know how to use it! You can bake it, broil it, steam it, fry it, add it to cake batter, muffin batter, cookies, breads, and well you get the picture? I sound like the guy on Forest Gump talking about shrimp!! LOL!! 🙂 Did you know you can make a mock apple pie with zucchini? It’s true you can! Just substitute (sliced, peeled and remove the seeds), zucchini for the apples and the same ingredient’s you add to apple pie, bake and serve. Trust me on this, we made this all the time when I was a kid, and people would say, WOW that’s the best apple pie I have ever tasted! We would just smile and say thank you! 🙂

This zucchini bread is one of my favorite ways to use up zucchini!

Spicy Zucchini Bread:

3 cups shredded zucchini, 2-3 medium

1-1/2 cups sugar

2/3 cup vegetable oil

2 tsp. vanilla extract

4 large eggs

3 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup coarsely chopped and toasted pecans or walnuts

1/2 cup raisins, soaked in water for 5 minutes, and drained

4 tsp. baking powder

1 tsp. salt

1 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp. ground cloves

1/2 tsp. ground ginger

1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease bottoms only of two 8×4 or 9×5-inch loaf pans. Greasing only the bottoms of nut beads help them to rise better while baking. In a large bowl mix zucchini, sugar, oil, vanilla, and eggs. Stir in remaining ingredient’s. Pour into pans. Bake 50-60 minutes or until toothpick inserted into center comes out clean. Cool, 5 minutes in pans. Loosen sides of pan with a knife; remove from pans to a wire rack. Cool completely, about 1 hour, before slicing. Wrap tightly and store at room temperature up to 4 days, or refrigerate for up to 1 week. Adapted from my trusty Betty Crocker cookbook!!

I haven’t been baking to many cakes, the medication I am on is really making me feel sick and just really slow…I did bake a cake and delivered it to a hospice man last week. I use Wilton’s Happy Birthday cake pan I bought off E-Bay awhile back. This is quite a story about how I got this pan. A couple of months ago my debit card was hacked and some one stole $5 out of our bank account. So I had to cancel to card right away to prevent any more money being stolen from our account. I had a hard time making it to the bank to get a new card, I had the fairs, and was just to sick to really care about getting the card replaced. Ray does a lot of the shopping for us, and he would just give me cash, so I wasn’t in a hurry to get the card. Awhile back I won an auction on E-Bay for that cake pan and I normally pay with Pay-Pal. I couldn’t because of my card issue, so I asked the seller if I could send a money order, and that was fine with them. If this cake pan wasn’t so hard to find I would not have bothered sending the money order, but I really wanted this pan! To make a long story short! I know too late! LOL!! I had a lot of hassle with the seller. They were rude in the emails they sent, every day I would get and email where is the money order??? I would respond it’s in the mail! Ray bought the money order at Wal-Mart and they made the seller upset with me, he yelled in an email, WAL-MART CHARGED ME $3 TO CASH IT!!! I said I am sorry I didn’t know that would happen. So to appease this person I mailed the $3 dollars in an envolope.So they can’t say I never paid them!

I have one cake next week and it goes to the mentally challenged place we send cakes to. I have no idea what I am making yet… Need to work on that! 🙂

 Ok enough from me for today!

Until next time..

Amanda 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 7, 2011 in Breads

 

Comments are closed.

 
