RSS

Cherry Rolls

21 Sep

Hello everyone,

Here is the recipe I made for the Fleishman’s yeast bread competition for the state fair. The judges said I had too much brandy in them! I didn’t know you could have too much brandy? Wink, wink!! Try them yourself and let me know if it’s too much for you!

Cherry Rolls:

For the dough:

2 package’s active dry yeast

2-1/2 cups warmed buttermilk, 105-115 degrees

1/3 cup superfine sugar

1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted and cooled to 105 degrees

3 tsp. baking powder

2 tsp. salt

1 large egg

6 cups all-purpose flour

Filling:

2 cups dried and chopped cherries

1/2 cup cherry brandy

1 cup superfine sugar

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened

Icing:

2 cups sifted powered sugar

1/8 tsp. popcorn salt

1 T. cherry brandy

2 T. milk

Chopped cherries for garnish

To make dough: In a large bowl, dissolve yeast in warm buttermilk. Add in the butter, sugar, baking soda, salt, egg, and 4 cups of flour. Mix until smooth. Knead in remaining flour on a lightly floured surface until smooth and still slightly tacky to the touch. Let raise in greased bowl until doubled in size, about 1 hour. For filling place cherries, brandy and just enough water to cover them. Cook for 4-5 minutes, just until the plump up; drain well. Divided dough in half, and roll each half into a 12×10-inch rectangle. Spread with 1/4 cup softened butter, and sprinkle with 1/2 cup sugar, and then sprinkle 1cup of the cherries. Roll up tightly and pinch ends to seal. Slice into 12 rolls and place in a buttered baking dish. Repeat process with remaining dough, and filling. You should have 24 rolls. Don’t worry if you don’t sometimes I don’t always get that many.Let raise until slightly puffed about 1/2 hour. Bake at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes. Cool completely before drizzling on icing. Mix all icing ingredient’s together until smooth. Drizzle over cooled rolls. Best if eaten warm, or at room temperature.

I don’t have any cakes for a while. I am still sick and my Dr. thinks it still might be my adrenal glands, but I must have more special testing. If that’s the problem then I will have to be on a different steroid for the rest of my life.. UGGG!!! Jesus my Lord, PLEASE HEAL ME!!!

Well better go for now..

Amanda 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 21, 2011 in Breads, Breakfast

 

Comments are closed.

 
