RSS

Applesauce Cake

27 Sep

Hello Everyone,

I was browsing through all my cake recipes I have posted for the last 1-1/2 years and noticed I never posted my applesauce cake recipe! One thing I did notice is that I have several recipes for apple cake of different kinds! It’s safe to say I LOVE apples, in just about anything! My favorite snack is apples dipped in a caramel sauce made with cream cheese. All the caramel is 1, 8oz. package of cream cheese, brown sugar to taste, 1-2 tsp. of milk and 1 tsp. of vanilla. Mix until creamy and it’s so good!!! I got this recipe from a daycare I worked at for a while.. I don’t eat it to often since I have a bit of a dairy intolerance, once and awhile it’s a must have for me! ๐Ÿ™‚

I love this applesauce cake recipe, it’s from my Betty Crocker cookbook and I changed it up a bit to my taste. I have made it several times for the state fair and it gets first place every time! ๐Ÿ™‚

Applesauce Cake:

1 cup raisins or dried cranberries

2-1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1-1/2 tsp. salt

1 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp. ground ginger

1/2 tsp. ground nutmeg

1/4 tsp. ground cloves

1 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1-1/2 cups granulated sugar

1/2 cup unsalted butter, softened

2 large eggs

1-1/2 cups unsweetened applesauce

1/2 cup chopped and toasted, pecans or walnuts

Heat oven to 350 degrees, grease and flour a 12-cup bundt cake pan. Place raisins in bowl and cover with hot water for 5 minutes; drain well and set aside. In a large bowl sift together the flour, salt, spices, baking powder, and baking soda; set aside. In a large mixing bowl, cream the butter and sugar together until fluffy, beat in eggs. In alternating additions add the flour mixture with the applesauce, beginning and ending with flour mixture. Scraping down bowl as needed. Fold in the raisins and nuts and pour into prepared baking pan. Bake for 50-60 minutes, or until cake tester comes out clean. Cool in pan on wire rack for 10 minutes, then unmold on to a cake plate. Serve dusted with powdered sugar or drizzle with caramel sauce! I love this cake served warm!

Enjoy ๐Ÿ™‚

Until next time…

Amanda…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 27, 2011 in Cakes

 

Comments are closed.

 
