RSS

French Onion Soup

28 Sep

Hello Everyone,

I love French Onion Soup! I rarely make it. I can’t get any in most of the restaurants around here, not any that’s good anyway… I had some onions to use up and thought this would be the best way to do that! This recipe is slightly adapted from my Betty Crocker cookbook..

French Onion Soup

2 tblsp. unsalted butter

2 tblsp. olive oil

4 medium yellow onions, thinly sliced

6 cups beef broth

1 cup red wine

6 cloves garlic, minced

1 tsp. black pepper

1 tsp. dried thyme leaves

2 dried bay leaves

4 slices french bread, cut about 1-inch thick, toasted

2 cups swiss cheese, shredded

In a 4-quart pot, melt butter and heat the oil. Add onions and cook, stirring every few minutes, cook for 10 minutes. Reduce heat to low and cook onions for 35-40 minutes, stirring well every 5 minutes or so. Add beef broth, red wine, garlic, pepper, thyme, and bay leaves. Cover and simmer for 15 minutes. Remove bay leaves and ladle hot soup into 4 individual ceramic soup bowls, top with bread and 1/2 cup each of swiss cheese. Set oven to broil and place bowls on a cookie sheet and broil until cheese is melted and lightly brown, about 1-2 minutes. Serve with a salad and more french bread to sop up the wonderful broth!

I wanted to say I haven’t made any Food Network recipes in a while. They had only one issue for July/August and then I had the fair stuff going on and plus it’s been too hot to cook much of anything. I am hoping to try a few in the September issue, but we’ll see. I have been really sick, my adrenal glands have stopped working. I have been sick with headaches, dizziness, fevers, weakness, and lots of muscle pain. Plus I had this odd craving for salt, which was really odd!! I haven’t taken any cakes either, I just haven’t felt it was fair to Community Cakes to keep taking cakes and not being able to make them… Hopefully in a few months I can get back to it.. My Dr. is talking to my other Drs. to decide what to do about my adrenal glands. I will have to be on a different kind of steroid for the rest of my life they said.. I just wish this didn’t happen… It complicates everything else in our lives…

Well enough for now…

Amanda..

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 28, 2011 in Soups

 

Comments are closed.

 
