RSS

Vanilla Cake with Vanilla Buttercream

05 Oct

Hello Everyone,

I love vanilla! If you gave me a choice between a chocolate cookie and a vanilla sugar cookie, I would pick the vanilla one every time! I even have made my own vanilla extract, but that’s been awhile back. All you need to make it, is 1lt. bottle of plain vodka, I use the a brand that’s made here in Idaho, although I can’t remember the name of it right now! πŸ™‚ You will need five fresh, plump vanilla beans. We buy them at a whole foods market in bulk, it’s a lot cheaper than buying just 1 in jar at the store!! Split each vanilla bean in half to open it up, and place them in the bottle. Place it in a dark cool place and let it sit for at least 6 weeks before using it. The longer it sits the better the vanilla flavor gets.. This taste’s better than anything you will buy at the store!! On a funny note, several years ago, I had a bottle sitting out on the counter and I was baking up a storm one day. My brother walks into my kitchen and goes ohhh drinking while your cooking ehh??? I say noooo, it’s my homemade vanilla! He says oh yeah right, not believing me, until he took a swig of the bottle, and made a funny face, and says ohh (with a surprised look on his face), it is vanilla! LOL!!! I wish I had a camera, the look on his face was priceless!! Still makes me laugh!! πŸ™‚

Vanilla Cake with Vanilla Buttercream:

For Cake:

1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1 cup granulated sugar

1/3 cup unsalted butter, softened

3/4 cup whole milk

1-1/2 tsp. baking powder

1 tbsp. vanilla extract

1/2 tsp. salt

1 large egg

For Buttercream:

1/4 cup unsalted butter, softened

2 cups powdered sugar, sifted before measuring

2 tsp. vanilla extract

2-3 tbsp. whole milk

To make cake: Heat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour a 8 or 9-inch square or round cake pan, set aside. In a mixing bowl mix sugar and butter together until fluffy, add in egg, salt and vanilla. In alternating additions mix in the flour with the milk. Beginning and ending with flour. Do not over mix. Pour into prepared pan and bake for 30-35 minutes, or until cake tester comes out clean. Cool completely on a wire rack before frosting. I like to make this in my nice glass square baking pans, that way I don’t have to flip it out onto a cake plate. If using glass lower your oven temperature by 25 degrees, as foods will bake faster and hotter than in a regular cake pan.

For Buttercream: Beat all ingredient’s together until smooth. Adding more milk to reach desired consistently. Frost cooled cake, and enjoy!!!

Until next time..

Amanda πŸ™‚

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 5, 2011 in Cakes

 

Comments are closed.

 
