RSS

Pumpkin Chiffon Cake

06 Oct

Hello Everyone,

Here is a great recipe for fall. It’s from my Softassilk cake booklet, and it was submitted by Nancy Dosen from Minneapolis, MN. I have made it a few times for Thanksgiving and well just to eat! 🙂

Pumpkin Chiffon Cake:

2/3 cup egg whites (about 7 large)

1/2 tsp. cream of tartar

2 cups cake flour, or 1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1-1/2 cups superfine sugar, baker’s sugar

3 tsp. baking powder

1-1/2 tsp. pumpkin pie spice

1 tsp. salt

1/2 cup vegetable oil

1/3 cup egg yolks (about 5 large)

1/3 cup cold water

3/4 cup canned pumpkin (not pumpkin pie mix)

1 tsp. vanilla

Whipped cream and additional pumpkin pie spice for garnish

Heat oven to 325 degrees. Beat egg whites and cream of tartar in medium bowl with electric mixer on high-speed until stiff peaks form: set aside. Mix flour, sugar, baking powder, pumpkin pie spice, and salt in large bowl. Beat in oil, egg yolks, water, pumpkin and vanilla on medium speed until blended. Gradually pour pumpkin mixture over beaten egg whites, folding with rubber spatula just until blended. Pour into ungreased angel food cake pan (tube pan), 10×4-inches. Bake for 55 minutes. Increase oven temperature to 350 degrees. Bake 5 minutes longer or until cracks feel dry and top springs back when touched lightly. Immediately turn upside down onto a heatproof funnel or bottle. Let hang about 2 hours or until cake is completely cool. Loosen side of cake with a knife or long metal spatula; remove from pan. Garnish with whipped cream; sprinkle with pumpkin pie spice.

I went to an endocrinologist yesterday and I really like this Dr. She was very friendly and seems to really want to help me get to the root of all my medical problems. It’s going to take some time, but she and myself are hoping I can better through the holidays.. Hopefully get off the current steroids and on to a different kind of steroid, that’s suppose to be easier on me.. About steroids, people have no understanding about them unless they have been on them for any length of time. I was talking to someone I met several weeks ago and they said people don’t get how you feel do they? I said no they don’t. They don’t realize all the nasty side effects, like personality changes, mood changes, and physical changes. I can’t tell you how many times I wanted to scream at people, I have to walk away or I say things… They are thing’s I know would hurt people. I know I have said some thing’s on here in my other posts, and have ticked a lot of people off. But I can’t and will not take back anything I have written here. What I have written is the truth and the truth can hurt.. For so long I had to keep everything to myself, or risk being cut of from some people. Yesterday the Dr asked me if I had sibling’s, it made me uncomfortable. I said well I do have one brother and only by birth is he related to me, but we haven’t spoken to each other for over a year now. She said that’s sad, normally when you get my age you get past all that sibling rivalry. I didn’t tell her it was because he chooses to be friends with someone who hurt me. Hard to imagine it’s been more than a year already. Someone said they were going to talk to him about all this, but I don’t think they did, because I haven’t heard a word about what happened.. Maybe they just don’t want to talk to me about it, I don’t know.. Do I miss my brother? To be honest with you, no I don’t. He’s not the person I knew as a child. Before everything in his life changed him and me..For me it’s better to maintain my distance…The Dr. said that stress can cause your adrenal glands to shut down too.. I guess my body is telling me I need to cut back on all the stress in my life, and not take so much on to myself.. I let so much get to me, then I get sick and well I just don’t get better.. Sorry I didn’t mean to unload like this, just being reflective on past situations, that I can’t change for the better…

Need to go..

Amanda…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 6, 2011 in Cakes

 

Comments are closed.

 
